Author Topic: Adventure ideas: Hidden Agendas  (Read 1703 times)

StuartYee

• Lieutenant
  • "Now, let's add a couple of happy Death Commandos"
Adventure ideas: Hidden Agendas
« on: 05 February 2013, 20:08:34 »
I'm going to try to run a AToW adventure at an upcoming convention...maybe. Naturally players will probably be strangers. To boot, I'm pretty new at AToW as it is.

I've hashed out the following basic premise- the PCs are lancemates. Per traditional RPG adventures, they will have common challenges and foes to face, but an added catch will be their Hidden Agendas.

The idea with Hidden Agendas is that each PC has one, and achieving theirs excludes everyone else from achieving their own...

1) Spy - You are a spy, you've got to wait for an extraction. Until then, you've can't break cover.
2) We want him alive - However the spy is, he/she needs to be captured alive and turned in
3) He killed my father - Whoever it was, the spy was responsible for your father's death and must be killed
4) The money's too good - There's a bounty from another faction for the live capture of the spy. Turn him/her in and enjoy early retirement.

Any thoughts or suggestions on fleshing that out?
"I can't save his life, it's too embarrassing!" - Arnold Judas Rimmer, BSC SSC

Tai Dai Cultist

• Lieutenant Colonel
Re: Adventure ideas: Hidden Agendas
« Reply #1 on: 06 February 2013, 02:22:02 »
and achieving theirs excludes everyone else from achieving their own...

I'd seriously recommend reconsidering that aspect for a game where people don't know each other.  A game like Paranoia is literally built around those kinds of backstabby shenanigans, but it's not the right feel for a normal ATOW game.

Having their own private goals can be a great idea, but again don't bring PvP direct or indirect into the table without giving it a LOT of consideration.

Labyr

• Sergeant
« Reply #2 on: 06 February 2013, 03:10:12 »