Author Topic: Personal Combat- love it? Hate it? Tips?  (Read 3580 times)

StuartYee

• Lieutenant
  • "Now, let's add a couple of happy Death Commandos"
Personal Combat- love it? Hate it? Tips?
« on: 15 July 2014, 19:29:26 »
When reading the ATOW rules for personal combat, the rules made sense and I liked the system...in theory.

In practice, I find them to be cumbersome, but maybe it's because I'm still new to it.

It seems to me, personal combat goes something like this:

Roll initiative
Initiative Winner declares actions (two automatic rifle attacks)
Tally dice roll modifiers (skill level, movement, target condition, link modifiers, etc...)
Roll dice
Find MoS or MoF
Calculate damage (base damage + MoS/4, etc.)
Apply damage to target (standard damage and fatigue)
Mark target as stunned
Mark off ammo
Repeat for second attack
Repeat all steps for all other characters

Does that feel cumbersome, or does it get smoother with more practice?

Any house rules or tips on making it run even smoother?
"I can't save his life, it's too embarrassing!" - Arnold Judas Rimmer, BSC SSC

Maelwys

• Major
Re: Personal Combat- love it? Hate it? Tips?
« Reply #1 on: 18 July 2014, 00:35:02 »
Looks about right. The only thing to really speed things up is when you have the damage figured out instead of having to check each time, and memorizing the modifiers. Unfortunately, beyond that, I'm not really sure where to add in any shortcuts.

Acolyte

• Lieutenant
« Reply #2 on: 18 July 2014, 04:03:55 »
One way to speed things up is to add all the modifiers that usually apply (Skill and Links mostly) and have that listed on the character sheet. Or, you can go even farther by subtracting the skill and links from the TN of the skill. Then you just add all the other modifiers to the die roll and compare to the adjusted TN. Works well for players and removes a set of modifiers from the equation.