Author Topic: Mixing Old with the New.  (Read 1874 times)

Arc724

• Recruit
    • Arc of Fire
Mixing Old with the New.
« on: 11 January 2016, 13:04:39 »
Hello new to the forums.

I've been playing Classic Battletech (3025) for about 6 months now. Well, after LONG play sessions the group is looking to stay in the era but use a new quicker system, Alpha Strike. We are all on board to try but we have also been planning to incorporating the MechWarrior RPG (2nd Edition) into the mix to make the games more dynamic and less fight-to-the-death.

I'm doing the leg work on the RPG system and I just discovered A Time of War. So my real question is:

Can we use Battletech: A Time of War as our RPG system while playing in the succession wars era?
  • Will there be any conflict with using this RPG with an earlier eras?
[/color]
« Last Edit: 11 January 2016, 15:08:17 by Arc724 »

hive_angel

• Lieutenant
  • A, B, C, D, E, F, Guy ...
    • Send Three Squads To Help
Re: Mixing Old with the New.
« Reply #1 on: 11 January 2016, 13:08:27 »
Yes you can as I use ATOW in my pre 3050 era campaign.
Follow my blog for Battletech battle reports!

http://ststh.blogspot.com

Search for "Battle Report"

Atlas3060

• ugh this guy again
  • Global Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • Just some rando
« Reply #2 on: 11 January 2016, 13:48:03 »
Succession Wars as in pre 3025 but after the Star League fall? Well there's no real official release of products to tweak it around that time.

We do have Era Digest 3052, which provides tweaks to the life modules for 3025-3052 play.
As for the rule set itself? A Time of War will work just fine on Succession War era games.
It's not about winning or losing, no it's all about how many chapters have you added to the rule books after your crazy antics.

Arc724

• Recruit
    • Arc of Fire
« Reply #3 on: 11 January 2016, 14:50:50 »