Author Topic: Intimidation skill?  (Read 2168 times)

BiggRigg42

• Catalyst Demo Team
  • Master Sergeant
Intimidation skill?
« on: 03 June 2017, 11:11:43 »
I just started playing A Time of War, but I'm not seeing an intimidation skill. Is there a skill by a different name that I'm missing, which does the same thing as intimidation? Coming from a D&D 3.5 and GURPS background, my group is really used to being able to intimidate.   

Tai Dai Cultist

• Lieutenant Colonel
Re: Intimidation skill?
« Reply #1 on: 03 June 2017, 11:38:40 »
It is interesting that there's no intimidate and/or seduction skill.

But you can use existing skills to govern getting people to do what they don't want to do:

Leadership can get people who are "on your side" to do what you want when they dont' want to do it.

Acting (the conning, fast-talking skill) can coerce/trick people who aren't "on your side" to do what you want even if they don't necessarily want to do it. 

If the context is threatening to harm them if they don't do what you want, then Interrogation can cover that.

If you're looking to replicate the 3.5/Pathfinder mechanic of using Intimidate to demoralize an opponent in the middle of combat: ATOW doesn't really have a skill to replicate that kind of effect.  Inflicting a mechanical penalty on your opponent based on being scary is imo more of a "GM wings it" kind of thing.
« Last Edit: 03 June 2017, 11:58:39 by Tai Dai Cultist »

BiggRigg42

• Catalyst Demo Team
  • Master Sergeant
« Reply #2 on: 03 June 2017, 12:32:33 »
Thank you. I also had the thought that intimidate would not really be a skill since it is not something people get trained in. So, without your response, I was going to make intimidate a Will Attribute check.

Paul

• dies a lot at the Solaris Melee Challenge!
  • BattleTech Volunteer
  • Colonel
« Reply #3 on: 17 June 2017, 00:05:36 »
I also had the thought that intimidate would not really be a skill

So did we.