Author Topic: DropShip & JumpShip Crews & their Ranks  (Read 5454 times)

boilerman

• Lieutenant
  • Spinning wrenches since 1968.
DropShip & JumpShip Crews & their Ranks
« on: 31 December 2017, 02:50:23 »
Anyone know of any canon fluff describing the ranks of DropShip and JumpShip crews? I'm looking for info above and beyond the construction rule requirements of 1 officer per 6 basic crew and gunners.

I am a US Navy veteran so I know how it tends to organize crews first hand. No command I ever served in had 17% ratio of commissioned officers to crew, outside of EOD. I've always assumed most of the officers in BT, on DropShips and JumpShips, are non-commissioned officers like the chiefs in the USN.

Thoughts? Information sources?
Avatar by Wombat. Thanks Wombat!

Frabby

• Major
Re: DropShip & JumpShip Crews & their Ranks
« Reply #1 on: 31 December 2017, 03:43:07 »
In Far Country (and yes it is canon), Reston Bannin was Master and Commander of his Scout-class JumpShip. Parker Davud meanwhile was the owner and pilot of his Leopard-class DropShip, didn't have a rank, and apparently didn't have crew or they weren't mentioned and didn't survive planetfall.

The Clans are different because of their caste system playing into ranks and roles aboard ships. Jason Schmetzer's Operation Ice Storm has Clan spacer characters.
« Last Edit: 31 December 2017, 03:46:50 by Frabby »
Sarna.net BattleTechWiki Admin
Author of the BattleCorps stories Feather vs. Mountain, Rise and Shine, Proprietary, Trial of Faith & scenario Twins

Daryk

• Lieutenant General
  • The Double Deuce II/II-σ
« Reply #2 on: 31 December 2017, 08:58:19 »
Didn't the Star League source book talk about O-3s commanding smaller DropShips?

When I work up ship crews, I generally try to make sure there's enough to man a three-section watch bill (so at least three officers, ideally outside of the Captain, but on the smallest ships, the CO is also a watch stander).

jklantern

• LAM of Shame
  • Major