Author Topic: Today, I Felt the Sting of Defeat  (Read 5131 times)

Mapmaster

• Warrant Officer
  • You're going to need a bigger table
    • Mapmaster Battlemaps
Today, I Felt the Sting of Defeat
« on: 17 January 2016, 22:27:39 »
Headcapped!  >:( :-[ :'( #P

A little background:
I started playing BT with a couple of friends about 1993 or so. For four years or more, we would simply pick out some mechs and fight a game. When it was over, we walked away, boasted our victory, or sulked in defeat. And that was it. Then, I stopped playing. I didn't pick it back up until about 8 years ago, and didn't get into a regular gaming routine until about 3 years ago. In those three years, I've managed to be a player in two separate campaign style games. Other times, I just helped play OpFor. The first of those 2 campaign style games was cut short due to relocating, so the second one has really been the real deal for me. We've managed to keep it going for a good year and a half now.

My Mercs:

Enter Capt. Hans Zeus Olson. A soldier's soldier; calm, capable, reliable, and calculated... my merc captain. He was brought in to lead a brand new outfit that had been culled together with embezzled monies and elements of the Lipton planetary militia that had went AWOL during the onset of the FedCom Civil War. Being the most competent of the first four mechwarriors hired to spearhead the newly formed company, Olson was a natural-born leader. He took the company purse and quickly assembled a lance of mechs to form the talons of the Mockingbird Tactical Reconnaissance Unit. With his fellow mechwarriors saddled into some of the best light mechs money could buy, he seated himself into a nicely customized Lynx that would be the flagship of his C3 network lance.