Author Topic: Desperately need a new edition of MWRPG: AToW is a weak link.  (Read 41959 times)

VictorMorson

• Sergeant
To put this in perspective, I've been running a campaign for nearly two years that began with A Time Of War as the MWRPG edition in question.  To put a long story short after all of that time, not one person warmed to the system despite loving the BattleTech universe, and half the time I ended up digging around in 3rd Edition for rulings.  In fact, I have a LOT of issues with A Time Of War:  In my honest opinion it was written during the weakest point in the fiction (there was a massive quality drop around Dark Ages where everything had massive guns and ridiculous rules); the new materials being put out by Catalyst, by comparison, are awesome and some of the new books really hold up and feel at home with the universe's original content.

My big issues with A Time Of War I really feel like need to be addressed in a 5th Edition, very badly:

- The Artwork:  This might sound like a nitpick, but A Time Of War, in general, has the worst artwork of any BattleTech book - even the most 80s of 80s ones.  From the cover model featuring three vacant eyed poser models and an elemental that seems to be getting into a tickle fight (I know it's supposed to be a repair) in the corner, to the default MechWarrior woman looking as if an evil killer doll got into a cooling vest, it's just bad.  Again, the new book art is awesome, and in fact, I might say it's some of the nicest looking stuff in the universe but cover-to-cover this if highly off-putting to just about everyone.