Author Topic: New to Battletech and GMing A Time of War  (Read 7329 times)

Hiro Protagonist

• Recruit
New to Battletech and GMing A Time of War
« on: 07 October 2015, 07:38:02 »
I'm somewhat new to Battletech, having only read one of the books and played one of the video games. However, I got the PDF of AToW months ago for a reduced price, and with the Battletech Kickstarter, I'm in a bit of a Battletech mood. I had a couple questions about the act of GMing an AToW game.

First, how do experienced players and GMs balance the difference between Mechwarriors and non-mechwarriors? If there is only one Mechwarrior in a group, what can the rest of the group do during that conflict?

Second, and somewhat connected, in Battletech, are there mechs with multi-day crews? If so, could I give gunnery to other members of the party so they could shoot while the pilot pilots the mech?

Third, how would you suggest creating a game for people with absolutely zero Battletech experience? Are there certain eras and scenarios that would be ideal for this group ignorance?

Thanks!

Tai Dai Cultist

• Lieutenant Colonel
Re: New to Battletech and GMing A Time of War
« Reply #1 on: 07 October 2015, 07:50:04 »
Unlike most RPGs, ATOW doesn't work so well with a diverse set of. Characters should either be all mechwarriors or none mechwarriors.  The different scales of play leave very little for non-pilots to do while the pilots are stomping or flying around a battlefield.

As for how to introduce the RPG to players new to Battletech.. I'd suggest using one of the free RPG day adventures... they're designed to show off the setting and system and can be downloaded for free.

guardiandashi

• Major
« Reply #2 on: 07 October 2015, 15:18:29 »
with very few exceptions battlemechs are single operator vehicles.

the canon exceptions are mostly heavy and assault units which are built with additional equipment that depending on the version of the rules you are using weigh different amounts.