Author Topic: New to Alpha Strike, trying to play it on hex maps  (Read 2192 times)

Lambda Futile

• Recruit
New to Alpha Strike, trying to play it on hex maps
« on: 23 June 2017, 03:46:04 »
Hi,

I'm new to Alpha Strike and this forum and hope you can help me with some general and hex map-specific questions:
  • The to-hit roll is always modified by the target's maximum movement, unless it hasn't moved at all. Correct?
  • The attacking unit's movement is not taken into account. Correct?
  • There are no politing rolls as in Classic Battletech. Correct?
  • How do you modifiy the to-hit roll for a hex of light/dense forest in the line of sight?
  • If a mech moves into an adjacent hex that is one level higher/lower, does that movement cost 3" (2" for the regular hex and 1" for the level change)?
In general I would be thankful for a list of inch cost for all the different terrain types on hex maps.

Thanks!

Lambda Futile

nckestrel

• Scientia Bellator
  • Freelance Writer
  • Lieutenant Colonel
Re: New to Alpha Strike, trying to play it on hex maps
« Reply #1 on: 23 June 2017, 08:54:19 »
Hi,

I'm new to Alpha Strike and this forum and hope you can help me with some general and hex map-specific questions:
  • The to-hit roll is always modified by the target's maximum movement, unless it hasn't moved at all. Correct?
First note: This is a major difference between the first printing and second printing (introduced in the Companion).  I'm going to be refering to the 2nd printing/errata'd 1st printing.
The answer depends on movement mode, but you have the general idea correct. If it doesn't move (1" or less), no target movement modifier at all.  If it does move (more than 1"), it gets it's full target movement modifier regardless of how far it actually moved.  It's binary, it either moved or didn't.  and then the third movement mode is jumping, if it jumped, use the TMM based on jumping.  If it didn't jump, ignore jumping.