Author Topic: Washes: Vallejo vs GW  (Read 3338 times)

Konrath

• Corporal
Washes: Vallejo vs GW
« on: 17 September 2016, 13:36:06 »
So I'm new to painting. I'll be painting mainly with Vallejo Model colour for my mechs. I've heard mixed reviews on the Vallejo Model colour washes. Have they fixed their issues? I'm mainly looking for black, grey and brown washes. Should I use GW instead for the washes? What looks best on mechs that aren't finicky to use? I dont really want to create my own at this point.

Also what do you guys recommend for metallics like gold, metal, bronze?

Kiff_Stevenson

• Master Sergeant
  • Mini by Psycho @ camospecs.com - Thanks Joel!
Re: Washes: Vallejo vs GW
« Reply #1 on: 17 September 2016, 14:19:35 »
Hi!

I haven't used Vallejo's washes, but I've had pretty good luck with GW's. The trick is not to let them pool. Also, I find you get a better 'flow' if you apply the wash over a glossy surface. This is sort of the opposite of what you want when you apply regular paint over a painted surface (there you want to paint over a matt surface because the bumpy texture provides better adhesion for the new layer).

There are lots of great metallics out there right now. I really like P3's range, but that's not to say that GW's aren't good too!

[Edit: spelling]

Konrath

• Corporal
« Reply #2 on: 17 September 2016, 14:46:44 »
Hi!

I haven't used Vallejo's washes, but I've had pretty good luck with GW's. The trick is not to let them pool. Also, I find you get a better 'flow' if you apply the wash over a glossy surface. This is sort of the opposite of what you want when you apply regular paint over a painted surface (there you want to paint over a matt surface because the bumpy texture provides better adhesion for the new layer).

There are lots of great metallics out there right now. I really like P3's range, but that's not to say that GW's aren't good too!

[Edit: spelling]