Author Topic: Questions about Rules  (Read 64 times)

MathNerd

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Questions about Rules
« on: 17 July 2017, 11:08:57 »
I have bought some Mechwarriors miniatures on eBay (which, by the way, are very cheap per figurine when bought in bulk). However, I don't know any experienced players, and I have some questions about the rules.

On the top of Page 22 of Mechwarrior: Age of Destruction, it says...

Also during your clean-up stage, any 'Mech you control that began and ended the turn occupying
shallow water terrain loses 1 heat; if it occupied deep water terrain, it loses 2 heat instead.



Now consider a 'Mech that started in deep water, and moved to shallow water. Or perhaps a 'Mech that started in shallow water, and moved to deep water. A close reading of this rule might imply that no heat is lost, because it is not the case that it started or ended in shallow water, and it is not the case that it started and ended in deep water.

In other words, is it the case that:
1. if you start and end in shallow water, then you lose 1 heat.
2. if you start and end in deep water, then you lose 2 heat.
3. if you start in one depth and move to the other depth, then you lose 0 heat?

I would prefer to read it as follows:
1. if you start and end in shallow water, then you lose 1 heat.
2. if you start and end in deep water, then you lose 2 heat.
3. if you start in one depth and move to the other depth, then you lose 2 heat, because you occupied deep water at some point during the turn.

Perhaps I am reading the rules too closely...
---Greg
« Last Edit: 17 July 2017, 18:59:20 by MathNerd »

cavingjan

  • Sang-Wei MUL
  • Battletech Volunteer
  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 4231
  • grumpy ESOB
    • warrenborn
Re: Questions about Rules
« Reply #1 on: 17 July 2017, 14:01:26 »
That is one of the reasons why deep water was dropped from organized play early in MW:DA's life. I think this was clarified to mean that you only lose only a single heat but a strict reading of the rule is 0 heat.

MathNerd

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Questions about Rules
« Reply #2 on: 17 July 2017, 17:56:53 »
cavingjan:
That is one of the reasons why deep water was dropped from organized play early in MW:DA's life. I think this was clarified to mean that you only lose only a single heat but a strict reading of the rule is 0 heat.



I didn't realize that deep water was dropped from organized play.

However, if one is using deep water terrain, I guess the literal interpretation of the rules is that a 'Mech that starts at one depth of water, and moves to the other depth, that 'Mech loses 0 heat.

It is hard for me to grasp what the science argument (err... science fiction argument) is behind that. Hrmmm...

Perhaps the act of moving from one depth to another depth is so awkward and challenging for the 'Mech, that it generates +1 heat, and that cancels out the -1 heat from being inside the water?! I could swallow that. After all, just running (multiple times) can generate lethal heat.
---Greg

MathNerd

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Questions about Rules
« Reply #3 on: 17 July 2017, 19:06:26 »
Toward the bottom of Page 29 of Mechwarrior: Age of Destruction, it says...

If three, four, or five of your infantry and/or vehicles are grouped so that each one is touching the base of at least one other, then you may designate them a movement formation.

Another quote, little bit later...

At the end of the order, each member must be in base contact with at least one other member---the formation cannot be split into two or more groups at the end of the order.


Now suppose one has four infantry and/or vehicles arranged in a pair of pairs. (So, two in base contact with each other, a gap, and then two in base contact with each other.)

It seems that the first quotation would indicate that it is okay for them to form a movement formation of four units, because each one is touching the base of at least one other. Of course, the second quotation would require them to form one group at the end of the order (e.g. forming a line of four abreast).

Is this allowed? Or does the movement formation have to start as a contiguous group?

The main situation where this might occur is a line of five abreast, where the middle unit gets eliminated, leaving behind a pair of pairs.

worktroll

  • Oldest and fatherless
  • Ombudsman
  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 18159
  • Per ardua, ad caelum
    • There are Monsters in my Sky!
Re: Questions about Rules
« Reply #4 on: 17 July 2017, 20:21:00 »
The spirit of the rule is definitely that there needs to be a contiguous chain of units - so the pair-gap-pair situation can't be declared a movement unit, and destroying the middle of a 'chain' would result in the loss of movement group status.

Trust me - providing simple, clear, and totally-comprehensive-and-unambiguous-covering-all-edge-conditions-that-people-might-think-of-in-every-case, is not simple. Common sense is as important on the table as dice.

IMHO, anyway ;)

W.
* No, FASA wasn't big on errata - ColBosch
* The Housebook series is from the 80's and is the foundation of Btech, the 80's heart wrapped in heavy metal that beats to this day - Sigma
* To sum it up: FASAnomics: By Cthulhu, for Cthulhu - Moonsword
* Because Battletech is a conspiracy by Habsburg & Bourbon pretenders - MadCapellan
* The Hellbringer is cool, either way. It's not cool because it's bad, it's cool because it's bad with balls - Nightsky
* It was a glorious time for people who felt that we didn't have enough Marauder variants - HABeas2, re "Empires Aflame"

MathNerd

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Questions about Rules
« Reply #5 on: 18 July 2017, 15:21:59 »
I have a follow-up question:
If a 'Mech moves from one shallow water terrain feature to another shallow water terrain feature, it has (technically speaking) achieved the requirements. It started and ended the turn in shallow water, and should shed a point of heat.

Yet, I think if it leaves one shallow water terrain feature, and moves fairly far to get to another shallow water terrain feature, then it should not receive the same magnitude of heat loss as a 'Mech that spend the entire turn in shallow water.

In fact, it is conceivable that a player could place two shallow water terrain features, perhaps about 1/3 of the way and 2/3 of the way from one deployment zone to the other. This "leapfrogging" could be very significant.

Perhaps it should be the case that the 'Mech should stay in shallow water for the entire movement order to achieve the point of heat loss?
---Greg

cavingjan

  • Sang-Wei MUL
  • Battletech Volunteer
  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 4231
  • grumpy ESOB
    • warrenborn
Re: Questions about Rules
« Reply #6 on: 18 July 2017, 16:03:13 »
It did not matter what was in between; only your starting point and ending point.

Also note that you cannot place two terrain piece adjacent to each other. Deep water directly to shallow water cannot happen.