BattleTech - The Board Game of Armored Combat

Catalyst Game Labs => BattleTech Game Rules Questions => BattleTech RPG Systems => Topic started by: babayaga on 26 December 2017, 14:12:39

Title: 10TP Title + 10TP Property: what does that give you?
Post by: babayaga on 26 December 2017, 14:12:39
What does a 10TP Title make you - and what kind of resources can you command if you also take the corresponding 10TP Property Trait? According to AToW (1st printing: p.127) 10TP makes you a Duke. In fact, AToW Companion makes “Duke” a T8 Title, costing 8+2=10TP.

The problem is: how much land is a Duke supposed to rule? According to AToW (p.353) a Duke rules (at least) whole planet; meaning a planet should be worth at most 10TP in Property since according to the Property trait on p.122 a 10TP title allows you at most 10TP in Property - and indeed, according to p.353 a Duke is supposed to control 10TP in Property.

However, the Property table on p.122 sets a whole planet at 11TP in Property. 10TP of Property "only" buys you "several continental masses or a small moon”. The latter are the types of holdings that AToW (p.353) and AToW Companion (p.247) describe as typical for a Marquis, and indeed AToW (p.353) "values" at 8TP in Property.

So, what do 10TP in Title and 10TP in Property buy? A ducal title and a planet? A ducal title and a tiny moon? A marquis title and a tiny moon?