I think the rules are pretty clear and you're wanting a different answer and not finding it.
1. yes. You've got it exactly.
2. "and the distance it traveled in the Movement Phase". It doesn't matter direction, path, or distance from starting point to target. if it travels the distance in the movement phase, that's what it uses. No, there is no other restriction.
Note: a jump is required to be in a straight line, so a DFA will in fact be distance from starting point to target because a jump "always follows the shortest path possible". that's a function of jump movement, not specific to charges/DFAs.