Register Register

Author Topic: DFA clarifications  (Read 635 times)

GamerDad

  • Corporal
  • *
  • Posts: 51
DFA clarifications
« on: 18 August 2022, 04:48:14 »
Referring to p.46 of the AS Commander's Edition rulebook, but we are playing on hex terrain.

  • If a mech has 8j movement, meaning it can jump 4 hexes, I've ruled that if the target mech is 5 hexes away, then it cannot be DFA'd as the jumping mech will land on the hex adjacent to the target mech, not ON the target mech as required by a DFA.  Is this correct?
  • If the target mech is exactly 4 hexes away and can thus be a target of a DFA, where does the attacking mech actually land?  Is it on the closest hex along it's line of travel?  Can he land on the other side of the target mech (therefore 5 hexes away)?
  • If the target is 3 hexes away, then I can let the attacking player decide which hex he can land on, but if he choses to land on a level 1 hex that is adjacent to the target mech who is on a level 0 hex, is that allowed?
  • DFA TN -- 4(base skill) + 2(attacker jumps) + 2(target TMM) + 0(target in clear hex terrain) + 1(physical attack - DFA) = 9 TN, is this correct?
  • Charge TN -- 4(base skill) + 0(attacker ground move) + 2(target TMM) + 0(target in clear hex terrain) + 1(physical attack - charge) = 7 TN, is this correct?

Just getting into Alpha Strike a bit more and wondering if we are doing this correctly.  Thanks for any help!

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Freelance Writer
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10617
Re: DFA clarifications
« Reply #1 on: 18 August 2022, 13:48:55 »
For AS, you only have to be adjacent. 
DFA does not require you be on the target, as that's physically impossible.  Not going to require you to stack miniatures on top of each other.
Any adjacent hex that the attacker can move to is fine.  Attacker moves the unit, attacker makes the decision as long as it's a legal move (can't move behind the unit if you don't have enough movement to get there).  Defender doesn't choose anything about the attacker's movement.
Charges and DFA have to be in base to base contact. For hex play, that means adjacent hex and at same elevation.  So in your example, they could not do a charge or DFA from a level 1 hex against a level 0 target.
Target Numbers look correct.
Alpha Strike Introduction resources
Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets

GamerDad

  • Corporal
  • *
  • Posts: 51
Re: DFA clarifications
« Reply #2 on: 19 August 2022, 05:20:57 »
For AS, you only have to be adjacent. 
DFA does not require you be on the target, as that's physically impossible.  Not going to require you to stack miniatures on top of each other.
Yes but if the target is 5 hexes away and you have 4 hex jump range, you essentially cannot land ON the target so a DFA is not possible?  You have to reach the target, not reach the adjacent space?  It's death from ABOVE, not death from ADJACENT HEX  ;D  ;D  ;D
Then due to stacking, you put your mech in an adjacent hex.  :thumbsup:
Can you please confirm where I can look into the rulebook for this?  Just coz the move from hex-less to hex-based play is boggling my mind.


Target Numbers look correct.
Thanks!

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Freelance Writer
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10617
Re: DFA clarifications
« Reply #3 on: 19 August 2022, 07:32:54 »
AS only requires adjacent. There’s nothing in AS about being on top of them.
Alpha Strike Introduction resources
Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets

GamerDad

  • Corporal
  • *
  • Posts: 51
Re: DFA clarifications
« Reply #4 on: 20 August 2022, 06:11:40 »
Noted and thanks!