Register Register

Author Topic: How many bases for an infantry platoon?  (Read 469 times)

koraq

  • Private
  • *
  • Posts: 42
How many bases for an infantry platoon?
« on: 28 July 2021, 07:21:13 »
I don't know where I got this idea, but for some reason I've gotten into my head that infantry is not one base for one unit, but some other measure.

So, as I'm planning to field some foot infantry to sneak up on my mechs with, how many bases should I prepare for a platoon, really?

NeonKnight

  • Freelance Writer
  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 5574
  • Lemme Talk to the Manager!
Re: How many bases for an infantry platoon?
« Reply #1 on: 28 July 2021, 08:32:23 »
One.

A Unit of Infantry is one base. You can put 1 mini on that base, and good enough, you can try and force a full 27 minis on it and would still be valid, but the common representation is often around 7 minis or 1 (or even 3).
AGENT #575, Vancouver Canada

Cache

  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 2688
    • Lords of the Battlefield
Re: How many bases for an infantry platoon?
« Reply #2 on: 28 July 2021, 08:40:51 »
There are outliers, like the Marians, where a platoon is broken up because of the increased number of troopers in the formation. In those cases, 1 card = 1 base. (The card linked above shows "4x", meaning 4 cards represents a full platoon, thus 4 separate bases/counters per platoon.)

Weirdo

  • Painter of Borth the Magic Puma
  • Global Moderator
  • Lieutenant General
  • *
  • Posts: 36969
  • Carpe Arcanum Cibum
    • Christina Dickinson Writes
Re: How many bases for an infantry platoon?
« Reply #3 on: 28 July 2021, 13:26:00 »
To make things a bit less confusing, let me rephrase the above:

1 card always equals 1 base. The number of troopers you put on that base is entirely your choice, and has no game effect.

In-universe, some factions(notably the Marians) field platoons so large that you need multiple cards to represent the whole thing. In those cases, 1 card = 1 base still stands.
"Thanks to Megamek, I can finally play BattleTech the way it was meant to be played--pantsless!"   -Neko Bijin
"It's just that the Hegemony had one answer to every naval problem. 'I kills it with my battleships.'" - Liam's Ghost
"...finally, giant space panties don't seem so strange." - Whistler
"Damn you, Weirdo... Damn you for being right!" - Paul
"...I was this many years old when I found out that licking a touchscreen in excitement is a bad idea." - JadeHellbringer
"We are the tribal elders. Weirdo is the mushroom specialist." - Worktroll

Sartris

  • Battletech Volunteer
  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 15332
  • Semi-Sentient MUL Roomba
    • Master Unit List
Re: How many bases for an infantry platoon?
« Reply #4 on: 28 July 2021, 14:16:27 »
To further clarify, AS stats are derived from the classic battletech units. Per the infantry construction rules, you can’t have more than thirty troops in a platoon. Marian infantry operate in 100 man platoons so one base of Marian infantry in AS is 25 men. ComStar also has oversized platoons that require the 36 man unit to be split into two 18 man units. At this level of abstraction it’s not a significant distinction but it explains why infantry is deployed the way it is

koraq

  • Private
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: How many bases for an infantry platoon?
« Reply #5 on: 28 July 2021, 14:55:43 »
Excellent. Thanks everybody. I must have read about ComStar or Marians once, and it stuck in my head and confused me. Now it's clearer.

truetanker

  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 8113
  • Clan Hells Horses 666th Mech. Assualt Cluster
Re: How many bases for an infantry platoon?
« Reply #6 on: 29 July 2021, 22:27:27 »
Sartris:

Can one be able to splint into Squads or should it be a straight full Platoon per Card? Asking, as I too am wondering... 30 per Platoon, but working 3 Squads of 10 equals the same Platoon / Card.

TT
Khan, Clan Iron Dolphin
Azeroth Pocketverse
That is, if true tanker doesn't beat me to it. He makes truly evil units.Col.Hengist on 31 May 2013
TT, we know you are the master of nasty  O0 ~ Fletch on 22 June 2013
If I'm attacking you, conventional wisom says to bring 3x your force.  I want extra insurance, so I'll bring 4 for every 1 of what you have :D ~ Tai Dai Cultist on 21 April 2016
Me: Would you rather fight my Epithymía Thanátou from the Whispers of Blake?
Nav_Alpha: That THING... that is horrid
~ Nav_Alpha on 10 October 2016

Sartris

  • Battletech Volunteer
  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 15332
  • Semi-Sentient MUL Roomba
    • Master Unit List
Re: How many bases for an infantry platoon?
« Reply #7 on: 29 July 2021, 22:57:55 »
you'd have to create those squads as custom units

CM Mercs has stats for squads but those only really exist to give the old one ton infantry bay units something to carry around.

Weirdo

  • Painter of Borth the Magic Puma
  • Global Moderator
  • Lieutenant General
  • *
  • Posts: 36969
  • Carpe Arcanum Cibum
    • Christina Dickinson Writes
Re: How many bases for an infantry platoon?
« Reply #8 on: 30 July 2021, 00:04:51 »
You'd basically have to design a bunch of one-squad platoons, convert them to Alpha Strike same as larger infantry units, fill out a crapload of Alpha Strike cards for them all, and they'd get none of the advantages squads get in TW-scale.
"Thanks to Megamek, I can finally play BattleTech the way it was meant to be played--pantsless!"   -Neko Bijin
"It's just that the Hegemony had one answer to every naval problem. 'I kills it with my battleships.'" - Liam's Ghost
"...finally, giant space panties don't seem so strange." - Whistler
"Damn you, Weirdo... Damn you for being right!" - Paul
"...I was this many years old when I found out that licking a touchscreen in excitement is a bad idea." - JadeHellbringer
"We are the tribal elders. Weirdo is the mushroom specialist." - Worktroll