Register Register

Author Topic: HullDown Rule Question  (Read 288 times)

Aberdokki

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 13
HullDown Rule Question
« on: 20 May 2022, 10:38:00 »
Hello. I want to ask about the incoming fire adjustment when hulldown. I understand how to get to hulldown, and outgoing fire reduction due to it, and how to get out of it.

In commanders edition Hull down pg38 states: ""A hull down unit has a +0 TMM but gains a +1 Target Number Modifier to any attacks made against it, unless they are from the rear attack direction. The unit is considered half its normal height for LOS""

Now the crux. On the WEAPONS ATTACK pg 42-43 and ATTACK MODIFIERS TABLE 44 there is zero mention of hull down.

Hull down does not specifically say it gives you partial cover, it only says it does not adjust your TMM rule, and gives a +1 target number modifier.

But when going through the S.A.T.O.R. rules, its lost in translation. I mean that's only 4" of movement and part of your damage output your losing, with zero mention of using it at all in SATOR.

1) Is Hull down simply a replacement for partial cover when you do not have partial cover?

1B) if so, why is it not just classified as 'giving partial cover' and the +1 bonus it entails.

2) Why is it ignored in the SATOR/ATTACK MODIFIERS TABLES if it is not partial cover?

3) What happens if you go hull down next to a 1 level elevation increase, and your attacker is on a height difference that would allow him to still see you and shoot at you over the increase. You would theoretically receive +1 partial cover from the hill by being next to it, and +1 from hulldown. Would you not?

4) Other then hulldown in the woods, is there any reason to ever use it?

MarauderD

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 3415
Re: HullDown Rule Question
« Reply #1 on: 20 May 2022, 11:03:31 »
I'd post this in the rules questions forum if you want an official answer. 

Aberdokki

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: HullDown Rule Question
« Reply #2 on: 20 May 2022, 11:27:02 »
oh, hmm ok.  Darn it!

thanks!

Aberdokki

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: HullDown Rule Question
« Reply #3 on: 20 May 2022, 11:36:37 »
maybe a mod can remove this post, i've reposted it in the rules portion of alpha strike.