Register Register

Author Topic: Landed VTOL weapons  (Read 505 times)


  • Private
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Landed VTOL weapons
« on: 20 January 2022, 07:03:50 »
Hello everyone,

I’m using the Commanders Edition manual.

We had a case where a VTOL transporting an infantry foot platoon landed and deployed the infantry into base contact with a mech.

During the combat phase, the VTOL wanted to fire its weapons at the mech while landed (facing was ok) this was in addition to the infantry conducting an anti mech attack.

Would this be possible? We can’t seem to find any clarification in the manual. It did decide the course of the game!

Thanks for any help you may be able to provide.


  • CamoSpecs
  • Master Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 200
Re: Landed VTOL weapons
« Reply #1 on: 20 January 2022, 08:43:18 »
This is one of those things where there isn't rules that says you *can't*, therefore it means you can. Don't over complicate. Don't let your dreams be dreams.


  • This Space Intentionally Left Blank
  • Administrator
  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 20921
  • 2022 Stanley Cup Champions
Re: Landed VTOL weapons
« Reply #2 on: 20 January 2022, 13:28:00 »
So the target is in the weapon's arc, outside of the hex the VTOL is actually in, you're just at Lv.0?

Blaze away.

Battletech doesn't care if the weapon is mounted side-saddle on the nose like the cannon on late-model Hinds today, under the nose like the Apache, in stub-wings, or directly under the pilot's nose- if it's in arc, it can be fired, airborne or not. In fact, if your rotor gets damaged, this is the only way a VTOL can continue to fight. (Note that a landed WiGE can also perform this action)
"There's a difference between the soldier and his fight,
But the warrior knows the true meaning of his life."
+Larry and his Flask, 'Blood Drunk'+

"You know, basically war is just, like, a bunch of people playing pranks on each other, but at the end they all die."
+Crow T. Robot+


  • Private
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: Landed VTOL weapons
« Reply #3 on: 20 January 2022, 17:01:41 »
Thanks for the responses. I see the e overall picture  :thumbsup:

Was just one of those funny situations that came up and we wanted to see what others thought.