Register Register

Author Topic: Formation rules: when they cease working?  (Read 528 times)

MarauderD

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 3607
Formation rules: when they cease working?
« on: 16 August 2022, 10:41:02 »
Quick question that came up in a friendly match last month.  Some formations, like Fire Lances, have a percentage rule.  So if your Fire lance loses a member, and you take 50% of 3 remaining mechs and round down, only 1 mech now gets the bonus.

I don't see it mentioned in other formations, like the Striker formation, for instance.  So does that mean if you lose two striker mechs, but not two of the Strikers that started with the Speed Demon SPA, that they still have the bonus?

Any similar rules for Battle, Command, and the other main formations?  I've read it twice now and it doesn't seem like it, but maybe I'm missing it and my reading comprehension has gone in the toilet with the rest of my brain?

pokefan548

  • Lieutenant
  • *
  • Posts: 1498
  • The Barracuda knows where it is, hence the -2 mod.
    • Poke's Aerospace Academy (Discord Server)
Re: Formation rules: when they cease working?
« Reply #1 on: 16 August 2022, 10:48:22 »
As I understand, as long as they deploy with the formation requirements met, they retain the benefits of their formation for the rest of the scenario unless otherwise specified.
Poke's Aerospace Academy
The best place to learn and discuss AeroTech.


BattleTech players: Throwing the baby out with the bathwater since 1984!
"Poke is just a figment of our imagination really." - Siam
"Poke isn't a real person, he's just an algorithm programmed by CGL to try and get people to try the aerospace rules." - Phantasm
"I want to plant the meat eating trees and the meat growing trees on the same planet! Watch that plant on plant violence!" - Sawtooth

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Freelance Writer
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10584
Re: Formation rules: when they cease working?
« Reply #2 on: 16 August 2022, 10:51:41 »
"A listed bonus ability remains usable in accordance with its rules as long as the formation has 3 units in the field that are not destroyed or routed."

As pokefan548 said, you don't recheck the formation requirements during gameplay.  Just during setup.  During gameplay, just the rule above regarding having at least 3 units is checked.
Alpha Strike Introduction resources
Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets

MarauderD

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 3607
Re: Formation rules: when they cease working?
« Reply #3 on: 16 August 2022, 11:53:02 »
"A listed bonus ability remains usable in accordance with its rules as long as the formation has 3 units in the field that are not destroyed or routed."

As pokefan548 said, you don't recheck the formation requirements during gameplay.  Just during setup.  During gameplay, just the rule above regarding having at least 3 units is checked.

So whether you have a Star or Lance or Level II--once a formation is reduced to 2 units (through death or rout) then the SPA bonuses from formations cease to function.  Got it.  (We played it wrong, my bad)

Hellraiser

  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 11509
  • Cry Havoc and Unleash the Gods of Fiat.
Re: Formation rules: when they cease working?
« Reply #4 on: 16 August 2022, 12:05:49 »
Interesting...

That is quite a bit of damage taking if its a Clan Fighter/Tank star v/s an IS Mech Lance.

Not sure I agree w/ it but at least its a concrete answer.
3041: General Lance Hawkins: The Equalizers
3053: Star Colonel Rexor Kerensky: The Silver Wolves

"I don't shoot Urbanmechs, I walk up, stomp on their foot, wait for the head to pop open & drop in a hand grenade (or Elemental)" - Joel47
Against mechs, infantry have two options: Run screaming from Godzilla, or giggle under your breath as the arrogant fools blunder into your trap. - Weirdo

Kerfuffin(925)

  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 2584
Re: Formation rules: when they cease working?
« Reply #5 on: 16 August 2022, 21:44:08 »
I don’t think it changed too much of what we did.
NCKestrel’s new favorite.