Register Register

Author Topic: Charge Attack  (Read 1216 times)

Kell

  • Corporal
  • *
  • Posts: 92
Charge Attack
« on: 20 September 2021, 08:52:55 »
Looking over the Charge Attack rules...
1. Attacking units do not take any damage unless they are attacking a unit size 3 or higher. Essentially this means that a Savannah Master can move 26" and do 3 points of damage (26" divided by 8 = 3.25 rounded normally) to a unit size 1 or 2, be in base to base contact (therefore no weapons attack from the target) and not take any damage from ramming into another unit? Even if it is a size 3 or higher it will still inflict 3 points of damage and only receive 1 point of damage in return.

2. There is no clear distinction on inches moved. Is it measured from starting point of attacker to the end point of target or is it total inches moved, because a unit can take multiple turns and swerves to get the full 26" of movement in order to inflict maximum damage.

If these points are answered in another errata I couldn't find or another post please let me know. Thanks

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Freelance Writer
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10439
  • All your tulips belong to us.
Re: Charge Attack
« Reply #1 on: 20 September 2021, 10:40:38 »
I think the rules are pretty clear and you're wanting a different answer and not finding it.

1. yes.  You've got it exactly.
2. "and the distance it traveled in the Movement Phase".  It doesn't matter direction, path, or distance from starting point to target.  if it travels the distance in the movement phase, that's what it uses.  No, there is no other restriction.
Note: a jump is required to be in a straight line, so a DFA will in fact be distance from starting point to target because a jump "always follows the shortest path possible".  that's a function of jump movement, not specific to charges/DFAs.
Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets]

Kell

  • Corporal
  • *
  • Posts: 92
Re: Charge Attack
« Reply #2 on: 20 September 2021, 10:45:35 »
Thanks

Minnow

  • Agent #618 of the Line
  • Catalyst Demo Team
  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 187
    • Wolf's Dragoons
Re: Charge Attack
« Reply #3 on: 20 September 2021, 10:59:58 »
So a charging unit can also control that the target can't shoot at it?

Damage to Attacker: If the Charge attack is successful, the attacking unit also suffers 1 point of damage if its target is Size 3 or higher . This damage does not count as an attack by the target unit, which may attack normally during its Combat Phase.

So charging you can also negate damage directed at you from your target?

I am reading this two ways.
« Last Edit: 20 September 2021, 11:12:37 by Minnow »
~ Minnow  CDT #618

Those who break faith with the Unity shall go down into the darkness. -- Natasha Kerensky


Kell

  • Corporal
  • *
  • Posts: 92
Re: Charge Attack
« Reply #4 on: 22 September 2021, 17:08:09 »
Can the Target Unit of a charge attack target the charging unit with weapons fire even though it is in base to base contact at the end of the movement phase?

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Freelance Writer
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10439
  • All your tulips belong to us.
Re: Charge Attack
« Reply #5 on: 22 September 2021, 17:38:54 »
So a charging unit can also control that the target can't shoot at it?

Damage to Attacker: If the Charge attack is successful, the attacking unit also suffers 1 point of damage if its target is Size 3 or higher . This damage does not count as an attack by the target unit, which may attack normally during its Combat Phase.

So charging you can also negate damage directed at you from your target?

I am reading this two ways.

All it’s saying is that the charge doing damage to the charger does NOT count as an attack by the target of the charge. Most units can only make a single attack each turn. This doesn’t count as an attack by the target of the charge.
Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets]

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Freelance Writer
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10439
  • All your tulips belong to us.
Re: Charge Attack
« Reply #6 on: 22 September 2021, 17:40:16 »
Can the Target Unit of a charge attack target the charging unit with weapons fire even though it is in base to base contact at the end of the movement phase?
No.  Combat Phase and Movement Phase are separate. If you are in base to base contact  during the Combat Phase is what matters.
Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets]

Azakael

  • Warrant Officer
  • *
  • Posts: 729
  • Brotherhood of Outreach - Until the Sword Breaks
Re: Charge Attack
« Reply #7 on: 21 November 2021, 15:04:52 »
So, something that has been itching the back of my brain. If a Mech doesn't have a MV higher than 8", is there any reason to ever make a charge attack with them, instead of moving up to melee range and making a standard melee attack?