Register Register

Author Topic: MHQ Trait  (Read 2549 times)

Shapiro Keats

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 22
MHQ Trait
« on: 20 January 2014, 20:58:30 »
I'm planning a WoB force for Alpha Strike and have some questions about the MHQ trait.

1) It seems that all mechs with C3I carry MHQ2 as well. Do I get the benefit of MHQ even if I'm not using (not paying points for) C3I for those units?

2) If I have a Level II (6 mechs), all with MHQ2,  I have a BI rating of 12. If my opponent is fielding a conventional Clan or IS force, it is completely possible that they will have a BI value of zero. In this case, pg.82 says we treat the BI ratio as 1:0, meaning I would get a +1 on my initiative, and they would get nothing. But if my opponent has even one point of BI rating, all of a sudden our ratio is 12:1, meaning I would get +12 on my initiative. Is this correct?

Does this mean that you should basically avoid having any BI rating at all, unless you're willing to go "all in" with a huge value? It seems that the current system would punish someone that mistakenly chose a single mech with a C3S when facing the level II described above, whereas a unit with BI of 0 would suffer little effect. Is all of this correct?  ???

cat97628

  • Private
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: MHQ Trait
« Reply #1 on: 20 January 2014, 23:58:03 »
seems like a cap should be on the bonus. I would think +2 at most

Tai Dai Cultist

  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 7127
Re: MHQ Trait
« Reply #2 on: 23 January 2014, 18:38:14 »
I'm curious about this as well.

It's probably not likely that you'll have no aircraft, recon, probe, etc in your force and end up with a zero BI score.

On the other hand, it is certainly possible to build your force to intentionally have a score of 0 just to game the rules and deny someone a ratio of any better than 1:0 no matter how much BI they strive for.

Might be worthwhile to ask in the Alpha Strike Rules Forum if you want an official answer/clarification.

My personal view is if BI is being used in the scenario, then a 0 should be considered "1" for calculating the ratio.

Weirdo

  • Painter of Borth the Magic Puma
  • Global Moderator
  • Lieutenant General
  • *
  • Posts: 38197
  • Carpe Arcanum Cibum
    • Christina Dickinson Writes
Re: MHQ Trait
« Reply #3 on: 23 January 2014, 20:36:26 »
It's not in Alpha Strike, but in Battleforce, you only gain MHQ from C3 Slave or C3i units if they are part of an active C3 network. I wonder if leaving this out of AS was intentional, or merely an oversight.
"Thanks to Megamek, I can finally play BattleTech the way it was meant to be played--pantsless!"   -Neko Bijin
"It's just that the Hegemony had one answer to every naval problem. 'I kills it with my battleships.'" - Liam's Ghost
"...finally, giant space panties don't seem so strange." - Whistler
"Damn you, Weirdo... Damn you for being right!" - Paul
"...I was this many years old when I found out that licking a touchscreen in excitement is a bad idea." - JadeHellbringer
"We are the tribal elders. Weirdo is the mushroom specialist." - Worktroll

Invader

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: MHQ Trait
« Reply #4 on: 29 November 2021, 09:01:01 »
Alpha Strike Commanders edition pg 155 states the MAX Initiative Bonus is +3.

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Freelance Writer
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10182
  • All your tulips belong to us.
Re: MHQ Trait
« Reply #5 on: 29 November 2021, 10:11:08 »
I think you are looking at an old AS rulebook.  There are not ratios any more for Battlefield Intelligence.
Quote
1) It seems that all mechs with C3I carry MHQ2 as well. Do I get the benefit of MHQ even if I'm not using (not paying points for) C3I for those units?
Yes. MHQ just requires any communications equipment, it doesn't have to be part of a c3 network.
MHQ has its own PV cost, so the unit has paid PV points for it, separate from C3 PV costs.  Note that c3 is part of the base cost for a unit, so you've also paid for that, regardless of whether or not you then put it in a c3 network.

Quote
2) If I have a Level II (6 mechs), all with MHQ2,  I have a BI rating of 12. If my opponent is fielding a conventional Clan or IS force, it is completely possible that they will have a BI value of zero. In this case, pg.82 says we treat the BI ratio as 1:0, meaning I would get a +1 on my initiative, and they would get nothing. But if my opponent has even one point of BI rating, all of a sudden our ratio is 12:1, meaning I would get +12 on my initiative. Is this correct?

Does this mean that you should basically avoid having any BI rating at all, unless you're willing to go "all in" with a huge value? It seems that the current system would punish someone that mistakenly chose a single mech with a C3S when facing the level II described above, whereas a unit with BI of 0 would suffer little effect. Is all of this correct?  ???
yes, this was a horrible rule and was completely rewritten after the first printings.  Too much to type out here, but you can find it in the AS errata document. p32.
https://bg.battletech.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/09/Alpha-Strike-2019-09-18-v2.5.pdf
Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets, Combat Manual Lite series [Steiner, Liao, Marik, Calderon, Invading Clans, Comstar. Also Record Sheets for the CM: Kurita and CM: Mercs unique pilots]