Register Register

Author Topic: Variable Damage Question  (Read 697 times)

Dahmin_Toran

  • Master Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 369
Variable Damage Question
« on: 11 June 2022, 23:39:16 »
In both variants of the Variable Damage Optional Rule (Multiple Damage Rolls and Multiple Attack Rolls), do Physical Attacks cause full damage or do you roll for each point?

Sartris

  • Codex Conditor
  • BattleTech Volunteer
  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 17532
  • I can and I will make you use a Garm
    • Master Unit List

Crackerb0x

  • CamoSpecs
  • Master Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 209
Re: Variable Damage Question
« Reply #2 on: 13 June 2022, 08:11:21 »

Strebor

  • Private
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: Variable Damage Question
« Reply #3 on: 05 July 2022, 19:49:11 »
Follow up question to this.  How do multiple attack rolls work when using Multi-Tasker SPA.

Say you have a until with 4/4/2 damage attacking one unit at close and one at long.  What rolls would be made by this unit?

Thanks

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Freelance Writer
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10447
  • All your tulips belong to us.
Re: Variable Damage Question
« Reply #4 on: 05 July 2022, 19:58:16 »
You don't need Multi-Tasker to attack more than one target when using multiple attack rolls.
Let's say your example, 4/4/2 wants to attack with all it has at a target at long range, then attack with whatever is left at short range.  It only has 2 damage at long range, so that's the most it can there.  It makes two attack rolls at the long range target.
For the short range target, it then subtracts the two it used against the long range target, leaving it with two attack rolls (4 short - 2 used at long).  This second target has a +1 target number modifier, in addition to all the other modifiers, for being a secondary target.
Multi-tasker SPA would allow the unit to ignore the +1 target number modifier for the secondary target.

Note that if the unit wanted the short range target to be the primary (if it didn't have Multi-tasker SPA and didn't want the secondary target modifier on the short range target), it could not attack the long range target if it used 2 or more damage/attack rolls against the short range target.  Because it would then have to subtract 2 (or more) from the long range damage value, leaving it with nothing to attack with.
Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets]

 

Register