Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered UPDATED) Immobilization from Critical Hit and Forced Withdrawal  (Read 1908 times)

Vulp

  • Private
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Pg 27, Forced Withdrawal
The rule for forced withdrawal states that "if the withdrawing unit is immobilized before it can reach the map edge, its crew will abandon the unit, and it is considered destroyed".  However, under the "Crippling Damage" header on the same page, it states that one of the conditions that can initiate forced withdrawal is "The unit has been immobilized through Critical Hit Effects".

What happens to a vehicle that is immobilizing when using the Forced Withdrawal rule? I could see a few interpretations:

  • Immediately removed as destroyed (Crippled triggers Forced Withdrawal, Crippled when in Forced Withdrawal == destroyed)
  • Removed as destroyed in the subsequent movement phase (i.e Forced Withdrawal effect activates in the movement phase, and removes the unit when they are unable to comply.  This would allow the unit to act in the next Combat Phase if it became immobilized by driving into a minefield).
  • Unit remains on field immobilized.  Mobility is a prerequisite for the Forced Withdrawal state, and the effects of being unable to comply with Forced Withdrawal do not apply.

It sounds like #1 is correct, but this does make vehicles even more fragile under these rules.
« Last Edit: 19 August 2015, 11:26:38 by Xotl »

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Freelance Writer
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10583
Re: Immobilization from Critical Hit and Forced Withdrawal
« Reply #1 on: 02 September 2013, 14:55:14 »
Motive Effects are not Critical Hits.
Being immobilized by motive effects does not send a unit in to Forced Withdrawal.
However, if a unit is sent in to Forced Withdrawal by some other condition (loss of armor, loss of ranged weapons), the crew will abandon the vehicle if it has been or becomes immobilized by motive effects.
Alpha Strike Introduction resources
Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets

Vulp

  • Private
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: (Answered) Immobilization from Critical Hit and Forced Withdrawal
« Reply #2 on: 02 September 2013, 19:04:13 »
Can you clarify what the effect would be if the vehicle were immobilized in the corner case of having their movement reduced to 0 by an Engine Hit roll of 12 on the Vehicle Crit Hit chart (assuming a vehicle that started with low movement)?  Sounds like it would be #1 from the list above.

Very much appreciate the fast and knowledgeable response, you guys are great!

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Freelance Writer
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10583
Re: (Answered) Immobilization from Critical Hit and Forced Withdrawal
« Reply #3 on: 02 September 2013, 19:11:27 »
Immobilized by a critical hit would immediately cause a forced withdrawal and then the vehicle being removed from the game since it is immobile.
Alpha Strike Introduction resources
Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Freelance Writer
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10583
Re: (Answered) Immobilization from Critical Hit and Forced Withdrawal
« Reply #4 on: 19 August 2015, 07:18:51 »
There has been a reversal of this answer.  Immobilization by any means will count as Crippling Damage and a Forced Withdrawal, if Forced Withdrawal rules are being used.
Alpha Strike Introduction resources
Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets