BattleTech - The Board Game of Armored Combat

Catalyst Game Labs => BattleTech Game Rules Questions => Alpha Strike => Topic started by: poser765 on 10 June 2022, 13:21:02

Title: (Answered) Aerospace air to air attack control rolls
Post by: poser765 on 10 June 2022, 13:21:02
So I’ve read through the rules (p185) and the errata. I just need a clarification.


Say two players with one fighter each. A and B. Player a loses the initiative so attacks first. He decides to attack fighter B with his fighter A. They make control rolls.  Both players succeed then fighter A attacks fighter B. Fighter B then has the option of attacking fighter A.


If fighter B counterattacks fighter A during Fighter A’s turn, does that count as his attack phase on player B’s turn? Can player B air to air attack on player A’s turn then on his own turn repeat another air to air attack or ground attack? The example in the errata seems to maybe support that. I just need a sanity check.
Title: Re: Aerospace air to air attack control rolls
Post by: nckestrel on 10 June 2022, 20:49:07
Yes, that counts as fighter B's attack that turn.  Unless it's a unit that has multiple attacks (DropShip, it used the rear ability and split its fire, etc), then it's done with its attack that combat phase.
If fighter B wants to attack a different unit, it must ("save its action") decline to attack fighter A during that engagement.