Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) (Errata) NARC and Standard Attacks  (Read 1909 times)

Wire_Hall_Medic

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 11
(Answered) (Errata) NARC and Standard Attacks
« on: 05 December 2016, 14:35:30 »
The NARC (iNARC, SNARC, CNARC) rules on AS p. 107-108 say that they increase damage of IF, LRM, and SRM attacks by 1, which has been clarified in the errata to exclude specialized missile munitions.

Does NARC affect standard attacks that include missiles?  For example, an CPLT-C1 Catapult has LRM 1/1/1; if he shot at a target that had been NARC'd in a previous turn using a standard attack (2/3/2), would he get the damage bonus?

If so, I assume this would extend to SRMs, within missile range.  For example, a THG-11E Thug has a standard damage of 4/4/2 and SRM 2/2; so he would get the bonus at short and medium ranges?

Finally, what about units with Indirect Fire, but not enough missiles for the LRM special rule?  The DV-6M Dervish has 2/2/2 and IF1 (but not LRM #/#/#), would he get the bonus with a standard attack?

Thank you.
« Last Edit: 05 December 2016, 15:50:04 by nckestrel »

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Freelance Writer
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10583
Re: NARC and Standard Attacks
« Reply #1 on: 05 December 2016, 14:42:06 »
Yes, any standard weapon attack from a unit with LRM, SRM, or IF special ability.  Special weapon attacks would only count if they were specifically using LRM, SRM or IF.
A unit with LRM and AC making an AC special weapon attack would not get the damage bonus.  A unit with IF making a standard weapon attack, not indirect, would get the damage bonus.
Alpha Strike Introduction resources
Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets

Wire_Hall_Medic

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: (Answered) NARC and Standard Attacks
« Reply #2 on: 05 December 2016, 14:54:24 »
Would a unit with the SRM special rule, but not LRM or IF, get the bonus when making a standard attack at long range?

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Freelance Writer
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10583
Re: (Answered) NARC and Standard Attacks
« Reply #3 on: 05 December 2016, 15:46:59 »
No.  At long range, the unit doesn't have the SRM special ability any more.

And, good questions, clearly needs something clarifying this.  But that's going to take longer so the answer now, errata later.
« Last Edit: 05 December 2016, 15:50:37 by nckestrel »
Alpha Strike Introduction resources
Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets

 

Register