Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) Partially submerged units & critical hits  (Read 980 times)

SC_Dave

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 171
(Answered) Partially submerged units & critical hits
« on: 14 October 2019, 16:42:40 »
Hi,
I was hoping for an official ruling on this matter which came up in a thread outside rules questions:

"Quote from: nckestrel on 15 July 2019, 14:57:46
p41 Submerged Units.  water over your height = completely submerged.  water at least 1" deep but less than unit's height (ie. a mech) = partially submerged.  but both are submerged.
p48 Underwater Damage. Every successful attack against a submerged unit generated a Critical Hit, even if there is no structure damage."


This is at odds with what was posted in the official rules questions thread: https://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=55748.0

Has the ruling, which stated completely submerged was required for a critical hit, changed? (It was a couple of years ago.)
« Last Edit: 14 October 2019, 19:14:14 by nckestrel »

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 9493
  • All your tulips belong to us.
Re: Partially submerged units & critical hits
« Reply #1 on: 14 October 2019, 19:13:22 »
Basically yes.
There was no "partially submerged" back then.  You were either completely submerged or not. And not submerged meant no critical hit.
Partially submerged has since been defined, counts as submerged, and therefore triggers critical hits from being submerged.
Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets, Combat Manual Lite series [Steiner, Liao, Marik, Calderon, Invading Clans, Comstar. Also Record Sheets for the CM: Kurita and CM: Mercs unique pilots]