Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) Indirect Fire and Transported Infantry  (Read 356 times)

Crackerb0x

  • CamoSpecs
  • Master Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 208
(Answered) Indirect Fire and Transported Infantry
« on: 09 March 2022, 16:40:56 »
Indirect Fire p.41 AS:CE v.3 states that a spotter must have valid LOS to a unit. I cannot find in the Transporting Infantry rules on p.38 AS:CE v.3 that transported infantry are removed from play while they are being transported or that they are in a game state where they cannot attack or do anything except be transported until they disembark the transport. I also cannot find anything in the rules where Mechanized BA are subject to all the same restrictions as infantry being transported with IT#

So the question that I feel comes off being super gamey is can mechanized BA (or any infantry being transported) spot for IF and is there a way to officially denote infantry being transported via removal from play or otherwise?

I feel like the worst for even asking this question.
« Last Edit: 21 March 2022, 14:45:05 by nckestrel »

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10370
  • All your tulips belong to us.
Re: Indirect Fire and Transported Infantry
« Reply #1 on: 09 March 2022, 17:05:16 »
No, transported units may not spot, attack, use C3, ECM, etc.
There is not currently an official way to denote infantry being transported.  I'd suggest removing them and putting them on the transport's card.
Errata pending, but the general answer is that units being transported are not anything except being transported.  They can't be attacked or draw line of sight.  (unless an exception in other rule grants them the ability to do so).

Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets, Combat Manual Lite series [Steiner, Liao, Marik, Calderon, Invading Clans, Comstar. Also Record Sheets for the CM: Kurita and CM: Mercs unique pilots]