Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) AS:CE Forced Withdrawal under Morale Rules?  (Read 205 times)


  • Private
  • *
  • Posts: 35
(Answered) AS:CE Forced Withdrawal under Morale Rules?
« on: 28 April 2021, 15:06:49 »
(Reposting this to here, since I have learned this is the correct place for such questions.)

So according to the Morale Rules, Page 169 of the Commander's Edition, if you play with the optional Morale rules, then a unit isn't automatically in forced withdrawal when they suffer critical damage.  Instead, the unit makes a Morale check to see if it is Routed.  And if the unit is Regular experience and is a Battlemech, then it's TN is 2? (4 base, -2 for "is a Battlemech...," page 170)  And if they're Veteran or above, then you can't send them into forced withdrawal at all?

That doesn't seem like how this was intended to work... have I gotten this wrong?
« Last Edit: 04 May 2021, 19:15:58 by nckestrel »


  • Scientia Bellator
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 9512
  • All your tulips belong to us.
Re: AS:CE Forced Withdrawal under Morale Rules?
« Reply #1 on: 28 April 2021, 16:38:31 »
The Morale rules do not replace the forced withdrawal rules.
If you are using both Forced Withdrawal and Morale, and if a non-infantry unit takes crippling damage, the unit is in forced withdrawal. The Forced Withdrawal rules say so. It then makes a morale check to see if it's morale has broken.  The morale being broken or not does have an effect other than forced withdrawal, if using formation bonus abilities.
If you are not using Forced Withdrawal but are using Morale, the same unit/condition must make a morale check as the Morale rules state.

Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets, Combat Manual Lite series [Steiner, Liao, Marik, Calderon, Invading Clans, Comstar. Also Record Sheets for the CM: Kurita and CM: Mercs unique pilots]