Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) Lucky: reroll a reroll?  (Read 850 times)

Captain Punka

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 144
(Answered) Lucky: reroll a reroll?
« on: 24 November 2021, 19:16:06 »
Seeking an official ruling on whether you can reroll a reroll.

Thanks!
« Last Edit: 24 November 2021, 19:21:41 by nckestrel »

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Freelance Writer
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10624
Re: Lucky: reroll a reroll?
« Reply #1 on: 24 November 2021, 19:21:32 »
There is no restriction on Lucky from rerolling again.
Attack, roll and fail.
Use a point of Lucky, reroll, take second roll.
If that second roll is also a failed attack roll, you've met the requirement for Lucky (a failed attack roll) and can spend another point of Lucky. You then have to keep the latest reroll.
You do have to fail the attack roll, you can't use Lucky to reroll a successful attack roll (searching for a natural 12 crit for example).  But if you keep failing the attack, you can continue to spend Lucky points.
Alpha Strike Introduction resources
Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets

Captain Punka

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 144
Re: (Answered) Lucky: reroll a reroll?
« Reply #2 on: 28 November 2021, 12:08:20 »
Thank you nckestrel!

I do believe this is the rules as they are currently written.  After I posted this question and you replied, I was reading the other posts on this forum and noticed this answer was answered in the opposite fashion not long ago (2021/10/19).  So, unfortunately, we now have two official rulings that say opposite things.

Which is really just good evidence that this point is a confusing one and should probably be in the errata.

Can you please confirm which ruling takes precedence?  Thank you so much!

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Freelance Writer
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10624
Re: (Answered) Lucky: reroll a reroll?
« Reply #3 on: 28 November 2021, 12:26:08 »
Updated that another answer.
Thanks.
Alpha Strike Introduction resources
Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets