Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) AS:CE Nova Formation Initiative  (Read 407 times)

Inspector2311

  • Private
  • *
  • Posts: 35
(Answered) AS:CE Nova Formation Initiative
« on: 09 April 2021, 01:12:31 »
For initiative/movement purposes, is a Nova (ASCE p.121) considered to be one or two formations?
« Last Edit: 05 May 2021, 12:35:07 by nckestrel »

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 9582
  • All your tulips belong to us.
Re: AS:CE Nova Formation Initiative
« Reply #1 on: 05 May 2021, 12:34:53 »
It counts as two formations for when using lance/star movement.
Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets, Combat Manual Lite series [Steiner, Liao, Marik, Calderon, Invading Clans, Comstar. Also Record Sheets for the CM: Kurita and CM: Mercs unique pilots]

Inspector2311

  • Private
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: (Answered) AS:CE Nova Formation Initiative
« Reply #2 on: 05 May 2021, 13:15:22 »
Thanks!

Wait, you said "when using lance/star movement."  Did you mean to imply there was another way of doing movement in AS:CE?  I had thought that lance/star movement was the default (p.31: "The player with the lowest Initiative roll moves one of his formations first") and I wasn't aware of any optional rule otherwise...?

Either way, how does this interact with the rules that Mounting must be done at the beginning of the transporting unit's movement and Dismounting must be done at the end of the transporting unit's movement (p.38)?  It seems to me that you couldn't mount one unit of infantry and dismount a different unit of infantry in the same turn.  Because the mounting would require that the infantry lance/star must go before the transports (so it can mount before its transport moves) but the dismounting would require that the infantry lance/star move after the transports (so that the dismounting can dismount after the transports move).  Do I have that right?  Or does the mounting/dismounting of infantry not count as that formation's movement per se and can therefore be done independent of the infantry formation's place in the movement phase?

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 9582
  • All your tulips belong to us.
Re: (Answered) AS:CE Nova Formation Initiative
« Reply #3 on: 05 May 2021, 13:22:03 »
Moving one unit at a time is the default.  Yes, that paragraph is confusing, but even it switches back and forth between formation and unit.  It should just say unit.
p33, Lance/Star movement. "Under normal Alpha Strike rules, all units move individually, "

Mounting is done by the infantry unit with their movement and has to be done before the transport moves. 
Dismounting is done by the transport, and must be at the end of the transports movement.
Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets, Combat Manual Lite series [Steiner, Liao, Marik, Calderon, Invading Clans, Comstar. Also Record Sheets for the CM: Kurita and CM: Mercs unique pilots]

Inspector2311

  • Private
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: (Answered) AS:CE Nova Formation Initiative
« Reply #4 on: 05 May 2021, 15:13:44 »
Ah, okay, so the p.33 lance/star movement is an optional rule.  Yes, agreed, the p.31 paragraph is confusing.

Thanks for clarifying mounting/dismounting.  I must say, it is very helpful when learning a system to have this level of rules Q&A.  We sure didn't have this back in the days of '90's Battletech.

 

Register