Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) Partial Cover  (Read 377 times)

wildkadabra

  • Corporal
  • *
  • Posts: 89
(Answered) Partial Cover
« on: 26 March 2021, 15:42:53 »
My question here is related to whethe or not partial cover works like in classic BT or not.

In classic BT, the mech must be adjacent to cover to receive the benefit, is this also true in AS?

Let us suppose two mechs of roughly equal size are standing 6" away from a small hill that blocks about 50% of them from each others point of view. Does partial cover apply to both mechs, or do they need to be next to the hill to receive partial cover?
« Last Edit: 07 April 2021, 07:13:56 by nckestrel »

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 9512
  • All your tulips belong to us.
Re: Partial Cover
« Reply #1 on: 07 April 2021, 06:50:20 »
No.
Alpha Strike's rule for cover is only "what can you see?"  There isn't even a definition of being adjacent to cover.
In your example, both units would have partial cover.

Exception if you are playing the Alpha Strike on hex maps option, and then you are effectively using the BattleTech cover rules including the standing adjacent to terrain for partial cover.
Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets, Combat Manual Lite series [Steiner, Liao, Marik, Calderon, Invading Clans, Comstar. Also Record Sheets for the CM: Kurita and CM: Mercs unique pilots]

 

Register