Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) Sniper and Range Master SPAs  (Read 348 times)

zakumaru

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 20
(Answered) Sniper and Range Master SPAs
« on: 21 October 2022, 07:03:11 »
Hi, On page 98 (AS:CE 5th print) there is a table that shows the range attack modifiers with Range master and Sniper SPA. However it states that the combination of Medium Range Master w/ Sniper would result in the following mods:
S: +2, M: +0 , L: +2, E: +3

Are the calculation wrong on this one? I would except the Sniper SPA would first reduce the mods of the ranges (excepts S range) by half and then the Medium Range Master SPA would apply a -2 on the M range bringing it to -1 instead of +0 in the table.

Also I wonder what if you also play with the optional rules for "Targeting and Tracking Systems" op page 173, which replaces the standard modifiers with the following:
Long-Range Targeting: S: +1, M: +2, L: +3, E: +4
Short-Range Targeting: S: -1, M: +2, L: +5, E: +7

In this case is it correct to assume the Sniper SPA would still halves the values on the range modifiers and apply a normal rounding, bringing the mods to as below:
Long-Range Targeting /w Sniper : S: +1, M: +1, L: +2, E: +2
Short-Range Targeting /w Sniper: S: -1, M: +1, L: +3, E: +4

And finally what if you combine this all with the Range Master SPA, would this still simply do the -2 on the specialised range and +2 on the S Range:
Long-Range Targeting /w Sniper and Medium Range Master: S: +3, M: -1, L: +2, E: +2
Short-Range Targeting /w Sniper and Medium Range Master: S: +1, M: -1, L: +3, E: +4


Thanks
« Last Edit: 21 October 2022, 10:45:51 by nckestrel »

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Freelance Writer
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10623
Re: Sniper and Range Master SPAs
« Reply #1 on: 21 October 2022, 10:43:26 »
The M: +0 is intentional, the range modifiers are not allowed to go negative from SPAs.


I would not recommend using the targeting and tracking systems optional rule along with SPAs. 
If you do, RAW Sniper does not halve the modifiers, it uses set modifiers for range.  And Targeting and Tracking Systems do the same.  You choose one or the other to use.  There is no rule that allows Sniper to halve the Long- or Short-Range Targeting System modifiers.
Range Master can then be combined with either of those choices, but it cannot lower the range modifier below +0.
Alpha Strike Introduction resources
Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets

zakumaru

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: (Answered) Sniper and Range Master SPAs
« Reply #2 on: 21 October 2022, 18:15:13 »
Thanks for clarifications. I guess the brief description "Unit reduces Medium, Long, and Extreme range modifiers by half." on page 94 set me on the wrong foot into believing the Sniper SPA would always halves the range modifiers. But you are right, the detailed wording on the SPA itself on page 99 says nothing about halving modifiers.

 

Register