BattleTech - The Board Game of Armored Combat

Catalyst Game Labs => BattleTech Game Rules Questions => Alpha Strike => Topic started by: BTGuderian on 10 April 2022, 11:27:52

Title: (Answered) TSEMP resolution
Post by: BTGuderian on 10 April 2022, 11:27:52
AS:CE p 90
TIGHT-STREAM ELECTROMAGNETIC PULSE WEAPONS (TSEMP#)

"TSEMP attacks may only be attempted in the unit’s Combat Phase"
"TSEMP effects against a target automatically wear off in the End Phase of the following turn."

When are the effects implemented, immediately after the weapon fires on the Combat phase, or during the End phase? I recommend a few words added to the first sentence to remove guesswork: "TSEMP attacks may only be attempted in the unit’s Combat Phase and are applied immediately" or "...are applied in the End phase."

How does TSEMP interact with Combat Intuition SPA (p 93)? One says it can fire weapons during Movement phase and the other says it can only fire during Combat phase. Which one wins? Is there a general rule to resolve such contradictions?
Title: Re: TSEMP resolution
Post by: nckestrel on 10 April 2022, 13:22:10
Combat Phase only.
If one rule is (more) specific version of the general, then  it overrides.  Combat is generally during Combat Phase, Combat Intuition is a specific rule for combat when having/using that ability, so it overrides the general rule.
For Combat Intuition and TSEMP, both are specific rules, and neither is more specific than the other.  Combat Intution is not a subset of TSEMP, and TSEMP is not a more specific type of Combat Intuition.  In that case, all restrictions apply, and therefore TSEMP can’t be used outside of the Combat Phase.
Title: Re: TSEMP resolution
Post by: BTGuderian on 10 April 2022, 19:35:05
Combat Phase only.

OK so just to be clear, if a unit moves first in the Combat phase, it can shoot its TSEMP and apply the effects immediately, thus if the player shooting the TSEMP has initiative then a target shut down would lose their combat phase and not get to return fire or take any other combat phase actions? As opposed to the shutdown happening in End phase, thus allowing the shutdown unit to return fire.
Title: Re: TSEMP resolution
Post by: nckestrel on 10 April 2022, 20:10:59
No sorry, forgot that question. Damage effects always take place in the end phase. The TSEMP would attack and resolve success/fail during Combat Phase, but the target woood he affected in the End Phase.  It woood then be affected for the Movement and Combat Phase of the next turn and it wears off the End Phase of that next turn.