Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered?) Follow-up on Hull Down & Standstill  (Read 513 times)

Captain Punka

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 144
(Answered?) Follow-up on Hull Down & Standstill
« on: 26 May 2022, 11:51:18 »
Standstill (p. 37) "A mobile unit that chooses to move less than 1 inch .. is at a standstill"
Hull Down (p. 38) "A unit spends 4" of movement to find a hull down position."

In a recent post, it was mentioned the intent is that the unit does *not* receive the attack bonus of Standstill on the turn they are getting into a Hull Down position.  However, as worded above, one could interpret that the unit does qualify if they moved less than 1" of movement.

I'm just confirming that this is the official ruling (i.e. a unit that spends 4" of movement and also moves less than 1" of distance on the table does *not* receive the Standstill attack bonus of +1 on that turn).  And, if that is the ruling, when you update the errata, you may want to clarify this point.

(Thanks as always for being an amazing resource to clarify these kinds of questions.  Your efforts are recognized and very much appreciated!!)
« Last Edit: 17 August 2022, 08:03:55 by nckestrel »

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Freelance Writer
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10585
Re: Follow-up on Hull Down & Standstill
« Reply #1 on: 26 May 2022, 12:58:14 »
"In a recent post, it was mentioned the intent is that the unit does *not* receive the attack bonus of Standstill on the turn they are getting into a Hull Down position."

What post is this?
I recall stating that the TMM from _not_ standing still does not stack with hull down bonus on the turn they move in.  I don't recall stating that standing still doesn't work with hull down?
Alpha Strike Introduction resources
Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets