Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) Using Hex Maps with Buildings under AS rules  (Read 263 times)

CapellanYouxia

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 6
I've been playing AS using the official hex maps and I'm trying to reconcile the maps with multiple hex buildings on them (mainly the "AeroBase #1" map) with both the AS:CE rules for AS to hex map conversion and the Urban combat rules. The Urban combat rules do not address multiple hex buildings when using hex maps. It 'normal' rules seem to imply that building are an 'all or nothing' affair as far as damage to CF is concerned and that the only guidance is "large buildings are 6"+" which is only at the bottom notes of the Alpha Strike Buildings Table.

The large building on AeroBase #1 is 21 hexes in size and they are all "Medium" building hexes. Am I being lead to believe that under hex play in Alpha Strike that taking a mere 6 points of damage (at most, according to the chart) to a single will collapse the entire 21 hex building? Because in Classic each hex has it's own CF and the building won't collapse until at least 1/2 the hexes are destroyed.
Something akin to this could have been added to the hex conversion chapter to clear this up.
How is this intended to be resolved?
« Last Edit: 15 July 2022, 12:20:19 by nckestrel »

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10443
  • All your tulips belong to us.
Re: Using Hex Maps with Buildings under AS rules
« Reply #1 on: 15 July 2022, 12:18:49 »
In hex map play, every hex is separate.  There are no "large" buildings in hex map play.  That was added to non-hex play for where there is physically a building that is large, and doesn't have smaller pieces that can be removed. You can remove a 2" area from a large building.  Nobody needs to bring a butane torch to a game and cut up their buildings.
In hex play, there's no such restriction. Every hex is its own (small) building. Regardless of the art.
Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets]

CapellanYouxia

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: (Answered) Using Hex Maps with Buildings under AS rules
« Reply #2 on: 15 July 2022, 13:16:08 »
Thank you for the reply, it is very reasonable solution, I just wish it was explicitly said in the hex conversion section someplace.

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10443
  • All your tulips belong to us.
Re: (Answered) Using Hex Maps with Buildings under AS rules
« Reply #3 on: 15 July 2022, 13:27:39 »
I'll keep that in mind if we get to rewriting.
Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets]