Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) Zone of Control SCA unintelligible wording  (Read 321 times)

BTGuderian

  • Private
  • *
  • Posts: 43
(Answered) Zone of Control SCA unintelligible wording
« on: 21 March 2022, 14:21:10 »
Zone of Control SCA p109.

I can not for the life of me make sense of this wording or what the point of this ability is. Can someone please reword it to make it clearer, or just explain it to me:

"To exert a Zone of Control, the unit must end its Move in base contact with one or more opponents, and have at least 2 inches of unused Move when it does so. The opposing units it comes into base contact with in this fashion must be in the unit’s forward firing arc (see p. 41), and will be affected only if they have not already moved at this point in the turn, or if they attempt to move through this area within less than 2 inches of the zone-controlling unit. Any opponents that meet these criteria fall under the unit’s “zone of control.”
Units within another unit’s “zone of control” must spend an additional 4 inches of Move to proceed in any direction other than directly away from the zone-controlling unit, unless they are using Jumping or VTOL movement to do so. If this would reduce the affected unit’s Move to less than 1 inch, the unit cannot move unless it proceeds directly away from the zone-controlling unit. For the purposes of this rule, “directly away” is considered the direction opposite any facing that would directly contact the zone- controlling unit’s base."

Questions:
- "must be in the unit’s forward firing arc" = ambiguous wording. Which unit is "the" unit?
- What does the second paragraph mean? How does this convert to hex map rules?
- Do all units in this formation have this ability?
« Last Edit: 09 April 2022, 02:21:57 by Xotl »

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10361
  • All your tulips belong to us.
Re: Zone of Control SCA unintelligible wording
« Reply #1 on: 21 March 2022, 14:41:00 »
- "must be in the unit’s forward firing arc" = ambiguous wording. Which unit is "the" unit?
The unit is the player's unit, in the force with Zone of Control.
Assuming you are the player with zone of control, you must move your unit into base-to-base contact with the enemy.  The enemy (opposing units) must be in your forward firing arc or the zone of control doesn't affect them.  You can't exert a zone of control over a unit behind you.

- What does the second paragraph mean? How does this convert to hex map rules?
I don't know what you are questioning here.  Can you be more specific with your question?  In general, the ability makes it cost additional movement to move once your units are in contact with them, unless the enemy moves directly away (retreats) from you.  It's general use is for forces to restrict faster forces from getting behind or past them.  I put my ZoC units in contact with yours, you are either going to be slowed down (additional 4" move cost) or run directly away. 

- Do all units in this formation have this ability?
Yes, all units in the force have this ability.
Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets, Combat Manual Lite series [Steiner, Liao, Marik, Calderon, Invading Clans, Comstar. Also Record Sheets for the CM: Kurita and CM: Mercs unique pilots]

BTGuderian

  • Private
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: (Answered) Zone of Control SCA unintelligible wording
« Reply #2 on: 04 April 2022, 01:30:27 »
Perfect, that helps a lot, thank you!