Zone of Control SCA p109.
I can not for the life of me make sense of this wording or what the point of this ability is. Can someone please reword it to make it clearer, or just explain it to me:
"To exert a Zone of Control, the unit must end its Move in base contact with one or more opponents, and have at least 2 inches of unused Move when it does so. The opposing units it comes into base contact with in this fashion must be in the unit’s forward firing arc (see p. 41), and will be affected only if they have not already moved at this point in the turn, or if they attempt to move through this area within less than 2 inches of the zone-controlling unit. Any opponents that meet these criteria fall under the unit’s “zone of control.”
Units within another unit’s “zone of control” must spend an additional 4 inches of Move to proceed in any direction other than directly away from the zone-controlling unit, unless they are using Jumping or VTOL movement to do so. If this would reduce the affected unit’s Move to less than 1 inch, the unit cannot move unless it proceeds directly away from the zone-controlling unit. For the purposes of this rule, “directly away” is considered the direction opposite any facing that would directly contact the zone- controlling unit’s base."
Questions:
- "must be in the unit’s forward firing arc" = ambiguous wording. Which unit is "the" unit?
- What does the second paragraph mean? How does this convert to hex map rules?
- Do all units in this formation have this ability?