Register Register

Author Topic: Where are the rules for : loading and unloading a Wet Navy?  (Read 1132 times)

truetanker

  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 7999
  • Clan Hells Horses 666th Mech. Assualt Cluster
Looking for the specific rules stating Wet Navy vessels can or cannot be transported by Dropships.

I'm talking about Landing and deploying using the transfer cargo rules found in SO (pg. 42 and 43, SO ).

I know the rules for landing on water, but as is... I could have sworn I saw rules that allow you to land mostly on land to deploy them from the dropship directly to water.

Is such a rule or am I dreaming?

Source if possible or a direct ruling please.

Thank you,
Truetanker
Khan, Clan Iron Dolphin
Azeroth Pocketverse
That is, if true tanker doesn't beat me to it. He makes truly evil units.Col.Hengist on 31 May 2013
TT, we know you are the master of nasty  O0 ~ Fletch on 22 June 2013
If I'm attacking you, conventional wisom says to bring 3x your force.  I want extra insurance, so I'll bring 4 for every 1 of what you have :D ~ Tai Dai Cultist on 21 April 2016
Me: Would you rather fight my Epithymía Thanátou from the Whispers of Blake?
Nav_Alpha: That THING... that is horrid
~ Nav_Alpha on 10 October 2016

Adrian Gideon

  • Battletech Developer
  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 6082
  • BattleTech Line Developer
Re: Where are the rules for : loading and unloading a Wet Navy?
« Reply #1 on: 16 March 2021, 23:06:15 »
There are no such rules. If that’s something that may occur in your game, do whatever you feel best for the story or scenario.
If you appreciate how I’m doing, send me a tip: ko-fi.com/rayarrastia
fb.com/battletechgame
@CGL_BattleTech

truetanker

  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 7999
  • Clan Hells Horses 666th Mech. Assualt Cluster
Re: Where are the rules for : loading and unloading a Wet Navy?
« Reply #2 on: 16 March 2021, 23:47:33 »
Ah...

Docking Thrusters is what I was thinking...

But ok, My table, my rules... just that there was something about able to land near water and can ' deploy ' wet navy via cargo transfer directly to water source without problems. After all this game is abstracted like that.

But oh well...

Thanks Adrian!

TT
Khan, Clan Iron Dolphin
Azeroth Pocketverse
That is, if true tanker doesn't beat me to it. He makes truly evil units.Col.Hengist on 31 May 2013
TT, we know you are the master of nasty  O0 ~ Fletch on 22 June 2013
If I'm attacking you, conventional wisom says to bring 3x your force.  I want extra insurance, so I'll bring 4 for every 1 of what you have :D ~ Tai Dai Cultist on 21 April 2016
Me: Would you rather fight my Epithymía Thanátou from the Whispers of Blake?
Nav_Alpha: That THING... that is horrid
~ Nav_Alpha on 10 October 2016

Chinless

  • Modicis Amice
  • Battletech Volunteer
  • Master Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 393
Re: Where are the rules for : loading and unloading a Wet Navy?
« Reply #3 on: 17 March 2021, 03:55:53 »
While not a rule, the Rapier's text in Handbook Davion p201 states that it was specifically designed so that two of them can be carried in specially modified Mammoth DropShips.

It doesn't mention how this was achieved, although I vaguely remember a thread on the boards discussing this before. As Ray has pointed out, there are no rules for this.

Chris

truetanker

  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 7999
  • Clan Hells Horses 666th Mech. Assualt Cluster
Re: Where are the rules for : loading and unloading a Wet Navy?
« Reply #4 on: 17 March 2021, 08:30:41 »
I can swear I saw a side panel in one of the books about the ability to land next to a water hex and deploy.

Natasha :

TO page 217-218, Transport Bays Expanded

I still think landing next to a water hex and deploying via dropper is allowed. But not furthering my inquest. Until official rulings can be shown, I'll stick to what I know. ( But I still swear I saw it, they had green little bodies, big grey eyes and a small mouth!  ;) )

TT

( And rode unicorns that crapped rainbows! )
Khan, Clan Iron Dolphin
Azeroth Pocketverse
That is, if true tanker doesn't beat me to it. He makes truly evil units.Col.Hengist on 31 May 2013
TT, we know you are the master of nasty  O0 ~ Fletch on 22 June 2013
If I'm attacking you, conventional wisom says to bring 3x your force.  I want extra insurance, so I'll bring 4 for every 1 of what you have :D ~ Tai Dai Cultist on 21 April 2016
Me: Would you rather fight my Epithymía Thanátou from the Whispers of Blake?
Nav_Alpha: That THING... that is horrid
~ Nav_Alpha on 10 October 2016