Register Register

Author Topic: In Hex firing Arc's and Hit locations  (Read 1267 times)

Gamergeek

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 7
In Hex firing Arc's and Hit locations
« on: 29 January 2013, 16:54:48 »
Hey all,

Could someone point me to the rules (if any) describing what the firing arcs, and hit locations would be for 2 enemy units within the same hex?

The Total Warfare rules say that a unit 'ends its movement immediately' upon entering an enemy's hex, but how is its facing determined (assuming its the same as when they entered), and more importantly, where does its fire hit the enemy unit (Front/Back/Sides etc).  can a unit enter a hex with a vehicle for instance and decide they are on its front, or rear within that hex.

Any help would be appreciated.

GG

Jim1701

  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 1772
  • "Don't Panic"
Re: In Hex firing Arc's and Hit locations
« Reply #1 on: 29 January 2013, 17:03:23 »
Only infantry may make a weapon attack against another unit that resides in the same hex.  Damage is applied to that unit's front arc. 

Jayof9s

  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 2362
Re: In Hex firing Arc's and Hit locations
« Reply #2 on: 29 January 2013, 17:03:39 »
I don't have the page reference handy for you, however most units cannot fire on other units in the same hex. Infantry / Battle Armor are the primary exceptions. It should be covered in Total Warfare.

That said, two 'Mechs can never be in the same hex with each other (even when a 'Mech charges another, it is counted in the adjacent hex during the firing phase). Tanks, infantry, battle armor, etc can stack though - with limits.

BirdofPrey

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 3880
Re: In Hex firing Arc's and Hit locations
« Reply #3 on: 29 January 2013, 17:07:18 »
The facing would be the same as what you had when you entered that hex since turning is movement, and movement is over once you enter that hex.
Note two mechs can't occupy the same hex, so you have to stop in a different hex, and ca't pass through an enemy mech's hex.

Most of the weaponry fitted to mechs and vehicles can't fire on a unit in the same hex, so there is no facing to determine.  Infantry can fire on things in the same hex, and are considered to be firing from the front.  A mech can also try to stomp something in the same hex, facing is determined randomly
« Last Edit: 29 January 2013, 17:10:02 by BirdofPrey »

martian

  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 8069
Re: In Hex firing Arc's and Hit locations
« Reply #4 on: 29 January 2013, 17:21:30 »
Only infantry may make a weapon attack against another unit that resides in the same hex.  Damage is applied to that unit's front arc.

No. BattleMechs can make attack against infantry and BA in the same hex with A-pods or B-pods. Puma tanks have B-pods too.

Jim1701

  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 1772
  • "Don't Panic"
Re: In Hex firing Arc's and Hit locations
« Reply #5 on: 29 January 2013, 17:36:07 »
No. BattleMechs can make attack against infantry and BA in the same hex with A-pods or B-pods. Puma tanks have B-pods too.

Technically true though pods are not really an attack but a triggered response to a swarm or leg attack.  If the infantry unit makes a standard weapon attack (other than a point blank hidden attack) then pods cannot be triggered.  You can count them if you like but I do not. 

Gamergeek

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: In Hex firing Arc's and Hit locations
« Reply #6 on: 29 January 2013, 17:38:15 »
Awesome!  Played the game since the 80's and never caught that.

Thanks all.......any idea on a page reference just to make sure I can find it, and explain to my players?

GG

BirdofPrey

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 3880
Re: In Hex firing Arc's and Hit locations
« Reply #7 on: 29 January 2013, 17:48:00 »
TW pg. 106
Quote
A unit cannot make a weapon attack against another unit
occupying the same hex. See Point-Blank Weapon, p. 114,and
Infantry, p. 212, for exceptions.

Gamergeek

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: In Hex firing Arc's and Hit locations
« Reply #8 on: 29 January 2013, 21:22:17 »
You guys are awesome......thanks!

GG