Register Register

Author Topic: Can a 'mech punch a tank if they stand on the same level?  (Read 459 times)

BiggRigg42

  • Master Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 290
Can a 'mech punch a tank if they stand on the same level?
« on: 06 November 2020, 12:57:52 »
Supposing two 'mechs stand on level-0, if one punches the other, this one hits on the punch location table, which contains no leg locations. So, this indicates that a 'mech cannot punch to level-1 (where the legs are) and must punch to level-2 (where the torso is).

Now, if a mech were to try to punch a tank and if both the mech and tank resided on level-0, the tank would be at level-1 (the same level as a mech's legs). So, this appears to indicate that a 'mech cannot punch at tank. I, however, do not see any textual evidence to justify this conclusion. Do we have a RAW answer for this?

AlphaMirage

  • Lieutenant
  • *
  • Posts: 1128
Re: Can a 'mech punch a tank if they stand on the same level?
« Reply #1 on: 06 November 2020, 13:03:32 »
Mechs cannot punch tanks unless they are one level above the ground level so if a mech stands on lvl 0 and a tank is on a lvl 1 hill you can punch it. Otherwise you must kick (or DFA) it, I think you can charge them however will have to look

BiggRigg42

  • Master Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 290
Re: Can a 'mech punch a tank if they stand on the same level?
« Reply #2 on: 06 November 2020, 13:07:20 »
Mechs cannot punch tanks unless they are one level above the ground level so if a mech stands on lvl 0 and a tank is on a lvl 1 hill you can punch it. Otherwise you must kick (or DFA) it, I think you can charge them however will have to look

Thank you. That's what I thought.

Kovax

  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 2237
  • Taking over the Universe one mapsheet at a time
Re: Can a 'mech punch a tank if they stand on the same level?
« Reply #3 on: 17 November 2020, 10:44:15 »
This is another example of an abstracted rule for gameplay purposes, which makes very little sense in the real world.  A BT hex is roughly 30 meters across, so if a vehicle is in an adjacent hex that's only one level higher, that's just a few degrees of slope from one hex to the next, easily drivable by the vehicle.  Either you're going to be too far away to punch with the vehicle a full level higher than you, or else you're going to get close, in which case the target is going to be on ground that's only a meter or two higher at most than where you're standing.  The rules rely on the questionable assumption that the terrain makes an abrupt change in elevation between the puncher and the target, yet is still somehow traversable by the vehicle, otherwise you'd be punching down at the top of the vehicle or kicking it.

Kitsune413

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 5183
  • Diamond Khanate Sakhan
Re: Can a 'mech punch a tank if they stand on the same level?
« Reply #4 on: 17 November 2020, 11:14:28 »
I question a mechs ability to kick up a slope in the first place, this is probably just me under-estimating them based on how impressive the current Atlas robot is at doing backflips, but I feel like despite Victor Milan having mechs do cartwheels, that having even a 20 ton two story tall battletech walk is an engineering feat.

https://youtu.be/_sBBaNYex3E
« Last Edit: 17 November 2020, 11:19:04 by Kitsune413 »
Every man lives by exchanging - Adam Smith