BattleTech - The Board Game of Armored Combat

BattleTech Game Systems => Ground Combat => Topic started by: Leafback on 17 October 2021, 14:21:05

Title: Some rule questions for a new BT group.
Post by: Leafback on 17 October 2021, 14:21:05
Heyas. I finally found a *very* local BT group that plays pretty regularly and am exited to get games going regularly. There have been a few hiccups with rules, however, and we'd like a third party to help us out please!

Streak SRMS: When SSRMs attack and hit, do all missiles hit the same location or is each missile assigned to it's own location as per normal SRMs. (Likewise, SLRMs, are they 5 point assignments or each missile?)

Arm Flipping: We are confused if a 'Mech can flip it's arms if it's missing either Lower Arm actuator or Hand actuator or both. Basically, can a Timberwolf Prime flip it's arms?

Crits, Endo-Steel, Ferro-Fibrous, and you: Are crits to ES or FF rerolled, or do you mark them off as a normal crit?
Title: Re: Some rule questions for a new BT group.
Post by: Empyrus on 17 October 2021, 14:29:05
Streak SRMS: When SSRMs attack and hit, do all missiles hit the same location or is each missile assigned to it's own location as per normal SRMs. (Likewise, SLRMs, are they 5 point assignments or each missile?)
Each Streak SRM hit location is rolled separately as with standard SRMs. Streaks are just all hit or none are fired.

Arm Flipping: We are confused if a 'Mech can flip it's arms if it's missing either Lower Arm actuator or Hand actuator or both. Basically, can a Timberwolf Prime flip it's arms?
To flip arms, the unit must be constructed without both left and right lower arm and hand actuators. Thus, the Timber Wolf Prime cannot flip arms, but the Timber Wolf A can flip its arms. The Timber Wolf B cannot flip arms because one arm has lower arm actuator present.
And emphasis on constructed, destruction of lower arm actuators doesn't magically enable flipping.

Crits, Endo-Steel, Ferro-Fibrous, and you: Are crits to ES or FF rerolled, or do you mark them off as a normal crit?
Re-roll these.

In general, all armor and structure critical slots are just re-rolled, with the exceptions being modular armor and reactive armor as that one may explode. But i gather neither is relevant to you, as they're not beginner stuff, and they're pretty rare anyhow.
Title: Re: Some rule questions for a new BT group.
Post by: House Davie Merc on 17 October 2021, 19:10:54
Also on the subject of arm flipping ,unless the rules have recently changed, BOTH
arms must flip at the same time and you can NOT flip arms and torso twist .

Flipping arms takes the place of a torso twist .

The flipping arms rule may seem odd but it's probably written that way to help balance the game .
It gives an advantage to mechs that have pretty much lost the ability to punch effectively .

One arm flipper per lance can help protect your 6 .
Title: Re: Some rule questions for a new BT group.
Post by: Empyrus on 17 October 2021, 19:33:18
There is an advanced rule that allows torso twist and arm flipping at the same time but this requires a piloting roll (a fail just negates whichever action was done second).
Title: Re: Some rule questions for a new BT group.
Post by: Leafback on 18 October 2021, 00:38:35
Thank you all!

The flipping arms rule may seem odd but it's probably written that way to help balance the game .
It gives an advantage to mechs that have pretty much lost the ability to punch effectively .

Ah ha! That makes sense. I've always wondered why all 'Mechs couldn't flip as it's relatively easy to do even with my own arms.
Title: Re: Some rule questions for a new BT group.
Post by: Weirdo on 18 October 2021, 08:19:32
The average mech is actually nowhere near as limber as an actual human. Proportionally, not as strong either. :thumbsup:
Title: Re: Some rule questions for a new BT group.
Post by: Wolf72 on 18 October 2021, 16:13:37
The average mech is actually nowhere near as limber as an actual human. Proportionally, not as strong either. :thumbsup:

You hear that boys!? We are more agile and stronger than mechs ... CHARGE!  :D
Title: Re: Some rule questions for a new BT group.
Post by: Kovax on 20 October 2021, 15:17:09
You hear that boys!? We are more agile and stronger than mechs ... CHARGE!  :D
Uh, they are a wee BIT bigger than us.....

Note: Using some the more advanced rules, several of the 'Mechs with flippable arms also have the "no torso twist" quirk.  The basic rules don't penalize them.
Title: Re: Some rule questions for a new BT group.
Post by: Simon Landmine on 20 October 2021, 19:11:33
Uh, they are a wee BIT bigger than us.....

"That's just a matter of perspect ... no, wait, I was wrong!"
Title: Re: Some rule questions for a new BT group.
Post by: Empyrus on 20 October 2021, 19:17:23
I'm sure a 'Mech can be agile and limber. Once. With some help from other 'Mechs.
Title: Re: Some rule questions for a new BT group.
Post by: Wolf72 on 20 October 2021, 19:44:44
It's not a war crime if they charge you, right?