Register Register

Author Topic: Some rule questions for a new BT group.  (Read 627 times)

Leafback

  • Private
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Some rule questions for a new BT group.
« on: 17 October 2021, 14:21:05 »
Heyas. I finally found a *very* local BT group that plays pretty regularly and am exited to get games going regularly. There have been a few hiccups with rules, however, and we'd like a third party to help us out please!

Streak SRMS: When SSRMs attack and hit, do all missiles hit the same location or is each missile assigned to it's own location as per normal SRMs. (Likewise, SLRMs, are they 5 point assignments or each missile?)

Arm Flipping: We are confused if a 'Mech can flip it's arms if it's missing either Lower Arm actuator or Hand actuator or both. Basically, can a Timberwolf Prime flip it's arms?

Crits, Endo-Steel, Ferro-Fibrous, and you: Are crits to ES or FF rerolled, or do you mark them off as a normal crit?

Empyrus

  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 7964
Re: Some rule questions for a new BT group.
« Reply #1 on: 17 October 2021, 14:29:05 »
Streak SRMS: When SSRMs attack and hit, do all missiles hit the same location or is each missile assigned to it's own location as per normal SRMs. (Likewise, SLRMs, are they 5 point assignments or each missile?)
Each Streak SRM hit location is rolled separately as with standard SRMs. Streaks are just all hit or none are fired.

Arm Flipping: We are confused if a 'Mech can flip it's arms if it's missing either Lower Arm actuator or Hand actuator or both. Basically, can a Timberwolf Prime flip it's arms?
To flip arms, the unit must be constructed without both left and right lower arm and hand actuators. Thus, the Timber Wolf Prime cannot flip arms, but the Timber Wolf A can flip its arms. The Timber Wolf B cannot flip arms because one arm has lower arm actuator present.
And emphasis on constructed, destruction of lower arm actuators doesn't magically enable flipping.

Crits, Endo-Steel, Ferro-Fibrous, and you: Are crits to ES or FF rerolled, or do you mark them off as a normal crit?
Re-roll these.

In general, all armor and structure critical slots are just re-rolled, with the exceptions being modular armor and reactive armor as that one may explode. But i gather neither is relevant to you, as they're not beginner stuff, and they're pretty rare anyhow.
« Last Edit: 17 October 2021, 14:31:25 by Empyrus »
Sun Tzu Liao: Scheming, opportunistic weasel of a ruler, or brilliant political tactician?
-What's the difference?

House Davie Merc

  • Lieutenant
  • *
  • Posts: 970
Re: Some rule questions for a new BT group.
« Reply #2 on: 17 October 2021, 19:10:54 »
Also on the subject of arm flipping ,unless the rules have recently changed, BOTH
arms must flip at the same time and you can NOT flip arms and torso twist .

Flipping arms takes the place of a torso twist .

The flipping arms rule may seem odd but it's probably written that way to help balance the game .
It gives an advantage to mechs that have pretty much lost the ability to punch effectively .

One arm flipper per lance can help protect your 6 .

Empyrus

  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 7964
Re: Some rule questions for a new BT group.
« Reply #3 on: 17 October 2021, 19:33:18 »
There is an advanced rule that allows torso twist and arm flipping at the same time but this requires a piloting roll (a fail just negates whichever action was done second).
Sun Tzu Liao: Scheming, opportunistic weasel of a ruler, or brilliant political tactician?
-What's the difference?

Leafback

  • Private
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: Some rule questions for a new BT group.
« Reply #4 on: 18 October 2021, 00:38:35 »
Thank you all!

The flipping arms rule may seem odd but it's probably written that way to help balance the game .
It gives an advantage to mechs that have pretty much lost the ability to punch effectively .

Ah ha! That makes sense. I've always wondered why all 'Mechs couldn't flip as it's relatively easy to do even with my own arms.

Weirdo

  • Painter of Borth the Magic Puma
  • Global Moderator
  • Lieutenant General
  • *
  • Posts: 37324
  • Carpe Arcanum Cibum
    • Christina Dickinson Writes
Re: Some rule questions for a new BT group.
« Reply #5 on: 18 October 2021, 08:19:32 »
The average mech is actually nowhere near as limber as an actual human. Proportionally, not as strong either. :thumbsup:
"Thanks to Megamek, I can finally play BattleTech the way it was meant to be played--pantsless!"   -Neko Bijin
"It's just that the Hegemony had one answer to every naval problem. 'I kills it with my battleships.'" - Liam's Ghost
"...finally, giant space panties don't seem so strange." - Whistler
"Damn you, Weirdo... Damn you for being right!" - Paul
"...I was this many years old when I found out that licking a touchscreen in excitement is a bad idea." - JadeHellbringer
"We are the tribal elders. Weirdo is the mushroom specialist." - Worktroll

Wolf72

  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 2045
Re: Some rule questions for a new BT group.
« Reply #6 on: 18 October 2021, 16:13:37 »
The average mech is actually nowhere near as limber as an actual human. Proportionally, not as strong either. :thumbsup:

You hear that boys!? We are more agile and stronger than mechs ... CHARGE!  :D
War does not determine who is right, only who is left. -- said no Clanner ... ever!

KS #1357

Kovax

  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 2376
  • Taking over the Universe one mapsheet at a time
Re: Some rule questions for a new BT group.
« Reply #7 on: 20 October 2021, 15:17:09 »
You hear that boys!? We are more agile and stronger than mechs ... CHARGE!  :D
Uh, they are a wee BIT bigger than us.....

Note: Using some the more advanced rules, several of the 'Mechs with flippable arms also have the "no torso twist" quirk.  The basic rules don't penalize them.

Simon Landmine

  • Lieutenant
  • *
  • Posts: 1079
  • Enthusiastic mapmaker
Re: Some rule questions for a new BT group.
« Reply #8 on: 20 October 2021, 19:11:33 »
Uh, they are a wee BIT bigger than us.....

"That's just a matter of perspect ... no, wait, I was wrong!"
"That's Lieutenant Faceplant to you, Corporal!"

Things that I have learnt through clicking too fast on 'Move Done' on MegaMek: Double-check the CF of the building before jumping onto it, check artillery arrival times before standing in the neighbouring hex, and don't run across your own minefield.

"Hmm, I wonder if I can turn this into a MM map."

Empyrus

  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 7964
Re: Some rule questions for a new BT group.
« Reply #9 on: 20 October 2021, 19:17:23 »
I'm sure a 'Mech can be agile and limber. Once. With some help from other 'Mechs.
Sun Tzu Liao: Scheming, opportunistic weasel of a ruler, or brilliant political tactician?
-What's the difference?

Wolf72

  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 2045
Re: Some rule questions for a new BT group.
« Reply #10 on: 20 October 2021, 19:44:44 »
It's not a war crime if they charge you, right?
War does not determine who is right, only who is left. -- said no Clanner ... ever!

KS #1357