Register

Author Topic: (Answered) TAG  (Read 1947 times)

Rougarou Rhapsody

  • Catalyst Demo Team
  • Master Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 202
  • Agent #1053
(Answered) TAG
« on: 13 January 2023, 15:33:44 »
Is TAG automatic? like does it Auto-hit or is there a separate attack roll to "paint" something with the TAG?  In Classic it points out that it is its own unique roll.  That type of language is missing in alpha strike commander's edition.
« Last Edit: 27 March 2023, 11:29:22 by nckestrel »
“No half measures. Some things can’t be cut in half. You can’t half-love someone. You can’t half-betray, or half-lie.” ― Mark Lawrence, Emperor of Thorns

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 11000
Re: TAG
« Reply #1 on: 27 March 2023, 11:29:12 »
There's two uses of TAG.
Artillery (p47) has a modifier to artillery attacks if the spotter has TAG.  This does not require an attack roll from the TAG. 

Semi-guided LRMs and homing artillery optional rules say the target must be successfully designated and/or painted by TAG.  This requires the unit with TAG to make a successful attack roll with the TAG equipment on the target prior to the semi-guided LRMs and homing artillery attack.

This is something that is planned to be clarified in the next printing (to match the above, just make it more clear).
Alpha Strike Introduction resources
Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets

Rougarou Rhapsody

  • Catalyst Demo Team
  • Master Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 202
  • Agent #1053
Re: TAG
« Reply #2 on: 22 August 2023, 23:03:10 »
There's two uses of TAG.
Artillery (p47) has a modifier to artillery attacks if the spotter has TAG.  This does not require an attack roll from the TAG. 

Semi-guided LRMs and homing artillery optional rules say the target must be successfully designated and/or painted by TAG.  This requires the unit with TAG to make a successful attack roll with the TAG equipment on the target prior to the semi-guided LRMs and homing artillery attack.

This is something that is planned to be clarified in the next printing (to match the above, just make it more clear).

I just wanted to make sure I'm understanding all of this in light of the most recent Errata (6.02) 
 
1)An indirect Artillery attack at a POI is at a -1 if the spotter has tag?
2)and the spotter does not have to to roll an attack to paint/designate the POI (it is automatic as long as it is within range)?
but
3)would have to roll a separate attack to "paint" an actual target (enemy unit) with a TAG?
“No half measures. Some things can’t be cut in half. You can’t half-love someone. You can’t half-betray, or half-lie.” ― Mark Lawrence, Emperor of Thorns

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 11000
Re: (Answered) TAG
« Reply #3 on: 23 August 2023, 07:52:22 »
1)An indirect Artillery attack at a POI is at a -1 if the spotter has tag?
  Yes, but the same is true against a unit, not just a POI.

2)and the spotter does not have to to roll an attack to paint/designate the POI (it is automatic as long as it is within range)?
  The spotter does not need to paint/designate the POI to get the -1 for spotter has TAG.  As it says "spotter has TAG".  It doesn't say successfully designating with TAG. Painting/designating a target with TAG requires an attack roll.  The -1 for spotter has TAG does not require painting/designating.  And this is true against units as well as a POI.

3) but would have to roll a separate attack to "paint" an actual target (enemy unit) with a TAG?
  The distinction is not unit or POI.  The distinction is whether the effect is "spotter has TAG" or "successfully designated with TAG".  Successfully anything requires an attack roll to determine success.
  a. -1 for "spotter has TAG" doesn't require success, and therefore doesn't require an attack roll for the TAG.
  b. semi-guided LRMs require successfully designating with TAG, it therefore requires the TAG to make an attack roll.
  c. homing artillery (alternate munition) requires successfully designating with TAG, it therefore requires the TAG to make an attack roll.
  d. a spotter with TAG _may choose_ to successfully designate with TAG and target for indirect fire.  this choice, if succcessful, allows the spotter to spot without giving the spotter attacked modifier or the spotter attacker movement modifier.

None of these change if the target is a POI or if the target is a unit. 
Alpha Strike Introduction resources
Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets

Rougarou Rhapsody

  • Catalyst Demo Team
  • Master Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 202
  • Agent #1053
Re: (Answered) TAG
« Reply #4 on: 23 August 2023, 09:06:43 »
snip

Thank you, nearly all of that is super clear

  d. a spotter with TAG _may choose_ to successfully designate with TAG and target for indirect fire.  this choice, if succcessful, allows the spotter to spot without giving the spotter attacked modifier or the spotter attacker movement modifier.

This is the only thing I want to double clarify.

So
if the spotter successfully designates with its TAG, the +2 for the spotter jumping or -1 for stand-still is ignored in the math for the indirect firing unit?
or
If the spotter also attacked, the +1 for them attacking is ignored in the math for the indirect firing unit?
but not both?

This is on top of the -1 for the spotter having TAG?

Sorry, I just want to make sure I have a firm grasp of what is being said.
“No half measures. Some things can’t be cut in half. You can’t half-love someone. You can’t half-betray, or half-lie.” ― Mark Lawrence, Emperor of Thorns