Author Topic: (Answered) CO - Unit Acquisition Rolls  (Read 855 times)

ArcFurnace

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 148
(Answered) CO - Unit Acquisition Rolls
« on: 09 August 2023, 20:18:22 »
Campaign Operations, Corrected Third Printing

How exactly are the Availability Rolls described on page 13 supposed to work?

By the rules as written in the last paragraph on the page, you get one Availability Roll per combination of chassis, variant, and crew experience level. This limit appears to apply regardless of success or failure. Failure obviously means you cannot acquire that combination, although you can try again after changing at least one of the three variables. Success means you can acquire at least one of that combination, although it is not stated if that is limited to exactly one instance, or if it is possible to acquire more than one instance after the single successful Availability Roll.

However, when moving to the examples, the rules they are operating under seem to be different. The example of "Hannah" on page 15 explicitly has her making an Availability Roll multiple times (four times, in fact) for a Veteran Warlord (BLR-2D) - the exact same combination of chassis, variant, and crew experience level each time. It is very possible that this was intended to be allowed, in which case the rules on page 13 likely need to be adjusted for clarity. Alternately, the rules on page 13 are correct and the examples need to be adjusted. To determine which, we need a ruling on what the developer intent was here.

For context, I should note that the Mercenary's Handbook (FASA 1616, page 34, second column, first paragraph) had unit acquisition done in such a way that a warrior or crew was selected, and then availability rolled for a unit, with only one chance to acquire any specific unit - but with an explicit note that the "one chance" only applied for that specific warrior or crew, and the next warrior over had their own independent chance to acquire the same unit. This biases me towards thinking the examples are correct and the rules should be adjusted.
« Last Edit: 16 February 2024, 17:04:38 by Xotl »

ArcFurnace

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 148
Re: (Research) CO - Unit Acquisition Rolls
« Reply #1 on: 15 February 2024, 19:47:00 »
Bump.

cray

  • Freelance Writer
  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 6242
  • How's it sit? Pretty cunning, don't you think?
Re: (Research) CO - Unit Acquisition Rolls
« Reply #2 on: 16 February 2024, 16:41:09 »
The intent was to have chances to acquire a unit ended by a failed roll. If you succeeded once, nothing was stopping you for rolling again for the same unit. That seemed to work pretty well for Miller's Marauders. ;)
Mike Miller, Materials Engineer

**"A man walks down the street in that hat, people know he's not afraid of anything." --Wash, Firefly.
**"Well, the first class name [for pocket WarShips]: 'Ship with delusions of grandeur that is going to evaporate 3.1 seconds after coming into NPPC range' tended to cause morale problems...." --Korzon77
**"Describe the Clans." "Imagine an entire civilization built out of 80’s Ric Flairs, Hulk Hogans, & Macho Man Randy Savages ruling over an entire labor force with Einstein Level Intelligence." --Jake Mikolaitis


Disclaimer: Anything stated in this post is unofficial and non-canon unless directly quoted from a published book. Random internet musings of a BattleTech writer are not canon.

ArcFurnace

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 148
Re: (Answered) CO - Unit Acquisition Rolls
« Reply #3 on: 18 February 2024, 18:08:20 »
Fair enough. On re-reading, it looks like the first example is a little unclear about that rule - Arnold rolls for four Veteran Marauders at once and fails every roll, when he should have done one at a time and stopped after the first failure. The example would still work if he was trying for different Marauder variants after the first failure, but this isn't specified, which makes it confusing after reading the rules on page 13.

He succeeds on every other roll, so no further issues there (other than not mentioning the rolls or TN for the Corsairs, but that's not critical as long as he succeeded), and the other examples seem to follow that rule properly - no exact retries on a failure, but plenty of rolling for more of the same after a success.