Author Topic: (Heavy Spoilers) Hotham's Rambling Review of A Question of Survival  (Read 3442 times)

Hotham

• Master Sergeant
This is a copy and past from my Amazon review (though slightly altered and expanded). I gave it five stars.

I'm not good at starting reviews so I'll begin by saying A Question of survival is a fantastic BattleTech novel. In a time where I feel current BattleTech stories are likely not to be on par with works that came out during the "classic" era, there are writers who consistently exceed my expectations. I now list Bryan Young among these writers.

His character work is phenomenal. Not just in the book, but in most of his works so far. A Question of Survival is a very character-oriented book. We are introduced to two main plotlines.  The first follows Jiyi Chistu and his Jade Falcon remnant, those left behind and missed by Malvina Hazen on way to Terra. Jiyi finds himself Khan of the remaining Falcons and struggles to preserve what's left of the clan while fending off surrounding enemies with little to no manpower.

The second main plotline follows Star Colonel Emilio Hall of the Rasalhague Dominion and the upcoming vote on whether to join Alaric Wolf's reborn Star League or remain independent. The Dominion is being torn in half by this vote and the populace is becoming divided into two groups, refusers and joiners.

Despite the political unrest, Star Colonel Emilio Hall has been tasked with facilitating combat exercises between a group of Ghost Bear sibkos on his planet. When Jiyi hears of these exercises, he makes an audacious plan to claim these sibkos through a Trail of Possession. That's as far as I'll go on the story. Let's switch over to the characters, which is where I feel Bryan Young's talent really shines.