Author Topic: (Answered) Clearing woods with a chainsaw/dual saw  (Read 879 times)

ArcFurnace

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 154
(Answered) Clearing woods with a chainsaw/dual saw
« on: 12 August 2023, 18:22:20 »
References: Total Warfare (9th printing), TechManual (6th printing).

The rules for using a chainsaw (or dual saw) to clear woods appear on page 134 in TW. While clearing woods, must a unit be in the hex it is clearing, or can woods be cleared from an adjacent hex?

The text in TW states that "While clearing woods, the unit must remain in the hex," which seems to imply that they must be in the hex they are clearing. However, the item description in TechManual (page 242) implies that at least some units can use it from an adjacent hex. Namely, it has a passage where it states that Hover and WiGE units must "land" in an adjacent hex (end in that hex on a previous turn and spend no MP in the current turn) in order to use a chainsaw on a target. I am also not sure if that passage is meant to apply to chainsaw physical attacks, clearing woods, or both, but said units (as well as wheeled vehicles) are prohibited from entering woods in any case, so it would make sense to be able to use it from an adjacent hex. Requiring the unit to be in the hex it is clearing would also make it impossible to clear ultra-heavy woods hexes using chainsaws, since both mechs and vehicles are prohibited, and makes it very difficult to take advantage of the rules in TW saying that multiple units with chainsaws can cooperate to clear the woods hexes faster (allowing, at most, a mech and a tracked vehicle to clear a hex of light woods in a single turn, unless using further optional rules like the Cross Country SPA to force a vehicle into a hex it would normally be prohibited from, since two mechs cannot share a hex at all).
« Last Edit: 28 August 2023, 21:19:23 by Xotl »

Xotl

  • Dominus Erratorum
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 11644
  • Professor of Errata
Re: (Research) Clearing woods with a chainsaw/dual saw
« Reply #1 on: 28 August 2023, 21:19:16 »
P. 134, Chainsaw entry:
While clearing woods, the unit must remain in the hex, though it can make facing changes as usual.
Change to:
While clearing woods, the unit must remain in its hex (either the one being cleared, or one immediately adjacent to it), though it can make facing changes as usual.
3028-3057 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0

 

Register