Author Topic: Guitar Ratings  (Read 3347 times)

GreyWolfActual

• CDT Global Events Developer
  • Catalyst Demo Team
  • Lieutenant
Guitar Ratings
« on: 14 March 2011, 23:08:41 »
Hi all.  There's a skill for songwriting, but no equipment for such a skill.  What would you all suggest as equipment ratings and notes for a guitar in ATOW?
"My name is Saul Tigh. I'm an officer in the Colonial Fleet. Whatever else I am, whatever else it means, that's the man I want to be. And if I die today, that's the man I'll be."
-Saul Tigh

Jackmc

• Captain
    • How I pay the bills
Re: Guitar Ratings
« Reply #1 on: 14 March 2011, 23:56:27 »
A/A/A as it's a pre-industrial age instrument that's incredibly common and legal in areas where even clubs/cudgels are illegal.

And equipment notes?  Seriosuly?   You're class isn't Bard.  It's just a musical instrument, no different than a bazillion others in the world.

There coems a point where you have to put down the book and jsut use a little common sense.

-Jackmc

Frabby

• Major
« Reply #2 on: 15 March 2011, 04:29:21 »
I recall this discussion with a guy from my RPG group. Why is personal combat usually seen as a defining module of any RPG rule system while equally difficult arts like cooking or making music are painted with a very broad brush? How come there is a gazillion combat skills and different rules for different pistol calibers, but only one "play instrument" skill that doens't even differentiate between a harp and a trumpet? Why does "role playing" always amount to hacking NPCs up in creative ways?
Questions questions questions  :D

Sarna.net BattleTechWiki Admin
Author of the BattleCorps stories Feather vs. Mountain, Rise and Shine, Proprietary, Trial of Faith & scenario Twins

BirdofPrey

• Major
« Reply #3 on: 15 March 2011, 05:07:13 »
Because people generally role play to step outside themselves for a time and pretend to do something they can't normally do.
Why role play something I can easily do at home?

Nargrakhan