Author Topic: MekHQ: Against the Bot, Changing the Way Enemy Forces are Generated?  (Read 2014 times)

promethium

• Recruit
So I've been playing ATB on MekHQ for a couple of years now, on and off, and it's incredibly fun. No better way to burn through your free time than managing a merc lance operating in lawless rim world space.

However, there is one thing I would love to see more than anything, as an option, in MekHQ for ATB games: The ability to disable enemy force generation being tied to your force's Battle Value, and have it be based on the contract's rating instead or something altogether separate. Or at the very least have some sort of option to increase the variance so that it's not always so static/predictable (and, for new mercenary outfits and newer players, not so consistently overwhelming). I would love the organic feel of not knowing whether a mission is going to be a breeze, a moderate challenge, or very difficult, and having to make decisions right there on the battlefield if I thought things were going to go south quickly.

The want for this sort of feature comes from several places, for one I just really want that organic feel, the same kind you would get in a real wartime scenario where the enemy's forces are not always perfectly matched to yours. For example, I feel like a pirate lair should be easily stomped by a lance of assault mechs, and the system already balances for this somewhat in operational costs, making fielding a lance of this kind for every mission a risky proposition. But probably more than that, I want it because I don't want every fight to be a fight for my life, it's sort of anti-immersive I guess. And as someone who, when they started playing, had a ton of trouble even completing my first contract, I feel like being able to pick contracts and actually have said contract have more of an effect on what you're going to go up against would be fantastic, both for old players and new.