Author Topic: WW2 Tanks: Sherman v. Panther v. Tiger  (Read 14510 times)

DoctorMonkey

• Captain
  • user briefly known as Khan of Clan Sex Panther
Re: WW2 Tanks: Sherman v. Panther v. Tiger
« Reply #90 on: 28 February 2018, 17:56:47 »
at the risk of re-igniting this and sorry for a long post...

I do not claim any military experience and my background is medical rather than anything else (although we are trained to assess data and evidence and I have a significant interest in history and military history).

My understanding is that the advantages the Sherman had over the Panther and Tiger were:
- crew survival in the event of being taken out: my understanding is that overall/in North West Europe something like 80% of tank crews could bail out of a knocked out tank to crew another tank; a T-35 had something like a 20% survival rate; the data on knocked out tanks came from the doctrine across all sides in WW2 of shooting a tank until it is definitely dead and that generally means on fire whether or not the crew have bailed out; I don't know how survivable the German tanks were but one combat records that of 3 Tigers destroyed by IS-2 tanks only two crew members survived.
- logistics: these tanks could be mass produced, easily shipped from the USA to the combat theatres and by standardising on essentially a single design spare parts were easier to supply (as opposed to a German unit that might have some Panzer IVs, Panzer II command tanks, Panthers, Tigers and some StUGs).
- reliability: this means that when you send a battalion to an attack about a battalion's worth of tanks arrive at the start line, for the Germans perhaps half the battalion of Panthers would make it without breaking down (and they could only move at night and often lacked fuel).

I think that all three of the above points work with the adage that amateurs study tactics but professionals study logistics as all three points are logistical benefits to the Sherman over the Panther and the Tiger.