Author Topic: What are the chances we could see these again?  (Read 10425 times)

wolfspider

• Warrant Officer
What are the chances we could see these again?
« on: 18 December 2013, 12:49:11 »
I was looking on the Camo Specs website and I noticed that the Ost series (Ostroc, Ostsol, Ostscout)  of mechs seem to be allowed to be shown again so what are the chances that we could see these 3 mechs from Iron Wind?
I may have a low amount of posts but I have a PHD in Battletech and mechs older then most people on this board!

JadeHellbringer

• Easily Bribed Forum Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Colonel
  • Third time this week!
Re: What are the chances we could see these again?
« Reply #1 on: 18 December 2013, 14:57:02 »
I was looking on the Camo Specs website and I noticed that the Ost series (Ostroc, Ostsol, Ostscout)  of mechs seem to be allowed to be shown again so what are the chances that we could see these 3 mechs from Iron Wind?

Well... I don't want to say 'none', but... nearly none.

Thing is, in theory Catalyst can also use the second-line designs from 3055 as well (Kraken, Hellhound, etc.) in their original formats. They've decided not to- all images of those machines are the reseen version, even though legally they didn't need to do that. The policy (as was explained a few years ago) is to only use in-house designs in artwork- it heads of any more unseen unpleasantness in court in the future if they don't even risk it again.

So, while technically they could probably use them without it getting ugly... it also appears to be something that Catalyst-and as a result, Iron Wind- just aren't really looking to get into.

In the meantime though, all three turned out very nice in the reseen format (the Ostscout in particular), so it's not a total loss.
"There's a difference between the soldier and his fight,
But the warrior knows the true meaning of his life."
+Larry and his Flask, 'Blood Drunk'+