Poll

What method do you use in your AS games to account for damage?  All or nothing?  Multiple Attack Rolls?  Multiple Damage Rolls?

All or Nothing
Multiple Attack Rolls
Multiple Damage Rolls

Author Topic: How do you handle attacks & damage in your Alpha Strike Games  (Read 3690 times)

MarauderD

• Major
Hey all.  I've been playing Alpha Strike for about 3 years now.  Up until now, I've always played the standard, "All or Nothing" style of accounting for damage.  ex:  My Nightstar hits at medium range, that is 6 damage to your unit.  I started playing that way to learn the game for simplicity, and to keep the game fast so I could finish matches.  I'm starting to consider using the optional rules for damage.

So what do you do in your Alpha Strike games?  If you are interested in sharing, let me know the PV range you usually play with, and what method for attacks/damage you use, and why.  Cheers!

MarauderD

• Major
Re: How do you handle attacks & damage in your Alpha Strike Games
« Reply #1 on: 14 February 2024, 16:15:38 »
I generally play in the 500-1000 pt range, and have used All or Nothing for the past couple years as I picked up the game.

I'm considering trying Multiple Attack Rolls so there is a little more nuance and a little less insta-gibbing the next time I get a chance to play.  (who knows when that will be!)

Lanceman

• Catalyst Demo Team
  • Warrant Officer
  • Blake Be Praised
« Reply #2 on: 14 February 2024, 17:30:11 »
A lot of my games have been introductory recently so I'm usually doing standard/all-or-nothing, but once folks are comfortable I like to move to MAR if they are up for it. It's fast and easy if you have enough unique pairs of dice, and reduces some of the swinginess you can get with all-or-nothing and adds a bit of tactical options since you can split fire between multiple targets.

"Pure truth cannot be assimilated by the crowd; it must be communicated by contagion" -  Henri-Frédéric Amiel

MyndkryM

• Warrant Officer